We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
100
170
86
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
170
86
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain view balcony door red brick hot water best hotel in town two nights hotel is located private balcony injera watch the sunset low season visiting lalibela lobby valley wifi ethiopia edge
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight in this beautiful hotel, situated high in the mountains, overlooking an astounding scenery, as seen from a bird’s eye. The facility is very modern, beautifully designed. The rooms are well equipped and the staff very friendly. Dinner was tasty with a decent variety. In the middle of the table was a huge freshly baked bread with the inscription “Wellcome, Mountain view hotel” on the bread. On the house of course. Warmly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Shlomitgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This seems to be the best buy in Lalibela. lovely view, restaurant OK, drinks on the terrace late afternoon a treat, the place is quiet and clean. What else in the middle of nowhere ? Wifi can be a surprise but generally a good hotel and a quiet spot to relax in.

Room tip: view essential
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tebehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We spent three nights here in a basic twin room.
The room was quite small but very clean.
The furniture and bathroom had a worn look and could do with updating.
There was plenty of hot water. WiFi is free but sporodic as is the case throughout Ethiopia.
The highlight is the lovely outlook over the mountains and valley. We appreciated our room having a small balcony so we could enjoy the view in our free time.
The staff are friendly and try and help as best they can, although service can be slow.
The food is reasonable. Laundry is possible at a reasonable price too.
The hotel is in the old part of town, a short drive away from the church sites.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Would never recommend staying at this hotel, after experiencing the following:
* Ordered a Pizza for dinner and had a stone as big as a five cent piece, luckily didn’t brake a tooth?
* Experienced massive bites around ankles while in bed, must have been fleas or mites,
* In the evening after everyone had gone to bed we went to the dining room / reception area to check emails and saw 3 to 4 rats roaming around the kitchen/dining and bar area and one had found a bread roll and was trying to take it up the stairs, past the reception and out the front door. It was disgusting and we left the next day without taking our breakfast.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is the View and the WiFi.

Room tip: Higher level for better view
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smwerner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Mountain View hotel was a very pleasant surprise.

Rooms were OK furnished, and even had patio-furniture to allow you sit and enjoy the spectacular views from the comfort of your room (afternoon sun) although you may want to visit the Ben Abeba restaurant for sundowners?

On plus side also were: spotless clean rooms, fresh towels, a wannabe rain shower and ample hot water, and basic soaps. Beds were a bit on the hard side, but some may prefer this.

The rooms were let down by public spaces a bit. We he spectacular patio lacked shade and the restaurant furniture could do with h a serious makeover. You will be hard pressed to find a reasonably clean dining chair!

And WiFi - forget about it. It is there but not connected.
Also cell data was down so forget about connectivity.

Staff was welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Food was better than expected - not that necessarily says a lot. Nobody left with stomach-souvenirs.

Hotel should improve on:
-exchange mirrors in bathrooms (rusty)
-exchange dining and lounge chairs
-sunshade on patio
-remember to inform guests of buffets instead of a la carte (buffet may be better choice)

Would stay here again if returning to Lalibela! So should you :-)

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank pukun2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews