We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$221
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
29
24
13
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
24
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagles nestlake malawicape maclearfishbeautiful placechickeni'm surewith great water pressurelodgecampsitebeachvillagemanagerendsunsetcatamarancamping
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

The campsite at Chembe Eagles Nest is almost on the beach and has stunning views of the lake. The site is grassed and has a wash up place, electricity and water.
The lodge is on the beach and the the view from the lounge is great.
The ablutions are clean and neat. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ExplorerNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The beach is quiet and private. The little cabins have excellent AC, mosquito nets, en suite bathroom with shower (no door to the bathroom, however). Nicely landscaped grounds with plenty of seating to view the beautiful sunsets.
Had dinner in the restaurant both nights. It has a limited menu, usually 2 choices, but it was good.
We had one problem. We wanted to go snorkeling. The bartender offered either the resort's catamaran or a trip with a local operator. He said that the owner approved of the locals offering their services and encouraged it, saying it brought money into the village.
We booked with the local man, who insisted on a deposit. We paid him half. He showed up an hour and a half late for our tour. We asked for a refund because he was so late and now we couldn't go, but he insisted that we should pay him the remaining amount! He refused a refund and we refused to pay him more. Use Chembe's catamaran if you want to go out on the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pjce717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We didn’t stay at this particular lodge but went and spent an afternoon there and had lunch. Situated at the end of the bay it separates you from the busyness of the lake edge you find further around the bay.
The views were stunning and we enjoyed swimming in the lake there and jumping off the rocks. Lunch was a very limited choice of burgers or fish and chips. Burgers were great, some of the fish had been cocked well other pieces either over or under. But they did prepare us a nice salad that wasn’t on the menu. Lodge offered camping or Air conditioned chalets, but no self catering chalets or family chalets which would be nice.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank MrsJones2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Chembe's Eagle's Nest - basic but clean and adequate lodges (with great water pressure and poor lighting) with gorgeous views of the lake,stepping right out onto the beach. As it's at the end of the bay (and one of the only private beaches - a huge plus) the sand is more coarse than further up.

We opted for the dinner/ bed and breakfast option -breakfasts were great and very filling (be sure to ask for medium eggs as a minimum as the soft ones were almost raw) and dinners were very hit and miss. The fish options were delicious, but the other dinners were below average, with the exception of one or two starters. Some nights we were given a 3 course meal,and others a buffet dinner.

We were there for New Years and the owner, Aubrey, put on a great party including an incredible display of fireworks.

The lodge offered cost effective activities including island day trips and catamaran tours.

Unfortunately the biggest let down of the entire stay was the lack of communication by management, and the rude manner resulting confusion was dealt with- the lady in charge does not seem to be a people person or overly happy in her role with guests!

We were not informed of the cleaning procedure of leaving your keys at the bar if you wanted your room cleaned and only discovered this on enquiry coming back late afternoon of day 2. Similarly we weren't informed of a last order time at the restaurant for lunches. Upon finding out this was at 3pm, the next day we made sure to order a little after 2pm, only to be rudely told that as it was NYE last orders were 2pm - understandable but frustrating that we weren't told in advance. Lunches were very average, with more than half the offerings frequently not being available (we were offered a carrot wrap instead of chicken, being told chicken was not available, but then served chicken for dinner. Similarly, nachos at lunch were served without guacamole / sour cream only to have a delicious guac dip in the evening).

The marked reception was never open and a manager not available - it's only upon leaving and communicating constructive critisicism to the manager whilst querying our bill (bitterly received) I was told that reception was located at the bar with the day manager and not the other staff we met later who claimed to be the management. All very confusing.

Staff were pleasant but not very well informed or trained and we had varying answers to questions depending on the day (this includes the manager at the bar/ reception).

Be warned that the lodge do not operate an accountability system when ordering from the bar/ restaurant - I would recommend signing off on your bill each day to avoid having to go through a handwritten tally of all the beverages against which there are no signatures by the person ordering, and to ensure there are no duplications on bills with groups - something which we found to be the case, I'm sure an error in busy times but which we had to request be removed from our bill.

None of the above problems would be especially concerning at a budget lodge, however the higher prices charged here command a higher standard, which unfortunately was not met with in any way.

A side note, especially if self catering in Cape Maclear - you are surrounded by the local village and the few convenience stores you will find stock very little in the form of groceries so stock up with essentials before hand.

Buy a local sim card for cheap and relaible data.

When going out to islands,take into account National Park fees at $10 per person per day and try take a bin bag with you - the islands are marred by litter - please remove your own and that already there to do your bit to keep the place picture perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms close to beach & lovely views - back rooms more private
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19_cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We chose to stay on a second occasion at Chembe. It has a beautiful outlook and sunset, and such a pleasure to have air conditioning and a fan at Cape Maclear. It is clean and well cared for. On both occasions we were en route from Liwonde to Mumbo Island so it was a lovely, relaxing in between stop.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank rosemarybowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews