We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, and doesn't quite live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lighthouse Marina Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Our room was very large and tidy but the first thing I noticed was the lack of another chair for my wife to sit in. Only 1 chair for such a large room. TV channels were plentiful but the quality of the reception was only just watchable.

We asked that both large single beds be pushed together as we did not get a double or queen size bed.

Aircon we found quite noisy even when turning the fan down to low.

Great shower but we found it leaked onto the bathroom floor as the door was not sealed properly.

Internet access was free but the room only supplied broadband cable to your laptop, so if you didn't have a Lan connection, you didn't have wifi, which made it difficult as phones don't use Lan connections.

The wifi was very average and only worked in certain areas, one of this not being our room. Although we were given the wifi details they didn't work in the room.

The restaurant food was very good and you would be hard pressed to fault it. Big servings and delicious.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay but for the price, I would say it was a little too expensive for the lack of basic amenities.

Room Tip: Aqua room is large but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gmc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2017

The Lighthouse Marina Resort is located in beach stretch of Subic.
It has only 30 plus rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, wi-fi and parking.
The restaurant offers Filipino, American, Italian, and other Asian food. There are enough table and chairs and al fresco dining.

Breakfast buffet is okay. It has soup, fresh fruits, salad, pancakes,cereals, eggs, cheese, bread and crackers, about 3 main courses, and for other carbs --noodles and rice. For drinks, they offer juices, coffee, tea and milk.

The room has comfortable beds, pillows and sheets. It opens to the view of the ocean. Not that fantastic but good enough for one to sit by the balcony and get some fresh air.

The toilet and bath though has a weird curtain/blinds. If you're in the bedroom, you can still see the silhouette of whoever is in the bathroom. Bathroom though is spacious, with bath tub, towels, cold and hot shower.

The hotel has a Lighthouse. Though not functioning anymore as a structure for sail boats but good to visit it for the experience.

The poolside is where the bar is located, which is below the Lighthouse. On weekends, it has a live band. Another area near the poolside is a function place if one wishes to hold a party. During our stay, there was a couple who celebrated their silver wedding anniversary.

Parking is available.

If you wish to explore Subic, places to go are the Duty Free shops, water sports centers, zoo, and other restaurants. There is a chapel nearby should you wish to go mass.


Staff is very friendly and helpful.

We spent about $400 for two nights for 4 pax with complimentary breakfast buffet and light afternoon snack.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngeliNacino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

We were there April 30- May 1,2017. A lot of people checking in and out since it was a long weekend but they handled check in and check out with efficiency. And they have delicious iced tea to welcome guests. Refreshing for a hot summer day.
Spacious and clean rooms, housekeeping very attentive and polite. A big plus . Small gestures like welcome fruits, afternoon snacks to boot and evening hot choco another BIG plus . (This is the first hotel that we stayed in that offered afternoon snacks and hot choco for the night.)
Oh! We just loved our room specially the jacuzzi. And the bubble bath smells wonderful.
The kid with us loved the pool and spend most of the time swimming.
Dinner at Sands was very good. Everyone were so full. Needed to take a walk after a sumptuous meal. Breakfast buffet the next day was very good too, although the coffee needs a little improvement .
It has a wide beach area that you can stroll along but the hotel doesn't recommend swimming (water seemed murky)and there other resorts alongside that you can see but sad to say you will see a lot of trash, plastic bottles, bottles, cans etc. Sad because you will realize that people just don't care much about their surroundings and what happen to those trash. Yes, it is the responsibility of each resorts to clean their beach front but we have to do our share. All those trash will go to the ocean. We have yet a lot to learn.
Overall a great experience. Are we coming back? Yes! Definitely. Do we recommend this hotel? YES! Definitely.


Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Its a typical pricey kind of hotel where you can't do anything. Maybe just a bad luck because there's a travel advice we can't go in the water due to i dont know. I forgot.. lol. So we just end up staying in the room whole day watching tv. But they giving away a free brownies at night so 3 star for that. Lol

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Hairia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We had our company outing at lighthouse marina bay last May 1&2, 2017. The place is very relaxing, the staffs are courteous and friendly. Upon entering the lobby, you'll be greeted by their staffs. The lobby was really nice and ambiance is great! Your tiredness in the long ride will fade away upon entering their hotel. Aside from that, the lobby smells good which will make you relax, like you're in a spa. Moving on, our room is lovely. They have complimentary fruits and water. The bathroom is great and really neat. They provide all our needs from shaving kit to buds. The bed is so comfortable. Also they deliver newspaper in the morning, you'll see it hanging at your door the next morning. They also provide slippers and robe which is really helpful since I didn't bring one.

Going to the foods, the breakfast is unlimited. Yum!!!! You'll see variety of foods from salads, to pancakes, to cereals and heavy meals. I ate all of that. Haha. So full that morning. Dinner is also superb, we had a grille dinner and the food is truly delicious. I also swam that night, and the pool is illuminated by the different colors projected by the lighthouse it's delightful to see. So all in all, I had a great stay and plan to come back again if I have time. :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0.8 km away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
277 reviews
0.1 km away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
200 reviews
6.7 km away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#6 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#5 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
147 reviews
32.3 km away
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
3.1 km away
Le Charme Suites
Le Charme Suites
#1 of 3 in Subic
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Marina Resort

Address: Moonbay Marina Complex, Water Front Road | Waterfront Road, CBD, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: ₱7,361 - ₱9,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most lavish and magnificent Subic Bay experience. Like a beacon that steers boats to shore, this magnificent establishment on the Subic waterfront can serve as a venue that beckons travelers seeking world-class comfort. Our Commitment: Lighthouse is committed to creating value and improving guests' experience. We have this genuine interest in our guests' evolving needs, thus we invest in our infrastructure and our people as we strive to provide a compelling guest experience. Our company was built on serving and satisfying guests and meeting if not surpassing our guests' needs is always our No. 1 priority. The Location: The Lighthouse Marina Resort is a three-floor, 34-room boutique hotel capped by a lighthouse. The hotel is sleek and ultra-modern in its Palafox-designed architecture. Done in almost austere Italianate architectonics with its elegantly simplistic hotel façade, the hotel's main building provides a perfect compliment to the 20 meter light tower done in surprising detail very faithful to naval architecture specifications. Its exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ultimate haven of retreat. The Lighthouse was established in 2007 to provide transient residence to executives of business locators of the Subic free port zone and for tourists who frequent the port more for its sailing and eco‐tourism than its business. Ease of Travel: Proximity and ease of travel are always a concern for many people who are trying to escape the hustle and bustle of life in the metropolis. Just less than a year ago, Subic was a grueling three to four hour drive from the city capital. Today, all roads lead to a tranquil location, a journey of heightened leisure, traversing through a scenic paved ultra majestic highway newly built to serve as the main vein of the Manila-Subic connection, the Subic Clark Tarlac Expressway. For a relaxing and inexpensive travel, the flicker of light at the Lighthouse Marina Resort just got brighter. A perfect vacation haven away from home just got closer. Its exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ideal chill out place within the shorelines of Subic Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lighthouse Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Marina Hotel Subic
Lighthouse Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing