We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but could be better ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

10 days over Christmas and New Year 2017.

Check In process : fine, no probs.

Room/Facilities :
Beachfront room was large and clean. Maybe a bit dated but so be it.
Toilet had a problem with flushing : fixed in a McGyeresque-kinda-way after a couple of attempts.
Bathroom was a bit smelly but probably due to pipes/water.
Get a can of scented insect killer and it'll solve the smelsl and (equally unavoidable) bugs/mosquitoes at same time.
Aircon unit seemed a bit temperamental (turned itself off for no apparent reason and needed to be re-started often) but was fine I spose.

Food & drink service :
Service at Beachfront Dining/Bar area was poor at best : delays, missing orders, confusion with billing, lack of trained/organised staff and process.
Staff seemed to be trying hard but not achieving very much ....
Needs a decent F&B Manager to pull it all together and provide an understanding of "service".

Will stay there again but, when doing so, will lower my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kalboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2017

I had previously stayed in the Wild Orchid about 6 years ago and remember the visit fondly, Alas things have changed.
I stayed for 2 nights st and 2nd of Dec.The check in was ok. Given room 239.
The room was for the most part clean, but old. The tiles on the floor were cracked and lifting so that you could not walk around the room without the sound of tiles cracking. There was no apparent hot water, but that was ok as the cold water was warm. The toilet seat was loose.
On a positive note there was 4 pillows on the bed, the air con was quiet and the satellite TV had a good collection of channels.The wifi was average. but it dropped out twice. I phoned reception and it was reset both times within about 30 mins.
The general pool area and bar was presentable (but a little bit run down). They have a sports bar in house. But when i went to visit it on the Friday night at 2150 hrs i was told by the staff they had closed early. It is signed 2300 hrs closed on the door.
No problems they have a complementary car that will drop you off anywhere along the Barrio Barretto (Clubs, Pubs etc).
On Saturday i took the hotel car to another bar showing Sports from my country at 1700 hrs on the Barrio Barretta. The trip was about 2 km. When i exited the vehicle i was informed by the driver that there was a P450 fee. I asked why? He informed me that the complementary vehicle was only free after 1800 hrs (6pm). The driver appeared quite amused and smirked, he had obviously been involved in this ambush a few times.
I did not eat at the Wild Orchid, as it is only a 1 minute walk to the Blue Rock resort which has outstanding food.
Went to the gym but it was like walking into dungeon, dark, hot, humid, dirty, gave it a miss.
When walking around the area i noticed quite a few new resorts have been built or given a face lift. In future i will look harder for an alternative to the Wild Orchid.
Also definitely look at online prices, i saved about 20% by NOT booking through the Wild Orchid web site.

Room Tip: Try to get as high up as possible. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel in subic it's near a big beach and floating bar in the sea. Check in was easy, nice pool and food was good. They have a lot of activities nearby and the location is good. The only 2 issues I had was the saftey deposit boxes in the rooms where from maybe 1960s they were so complicated to use I had to call someone to my room 3 times to open it and teach you how to use it...they were the worst boxes I have ever seen in my life (you will not know how to use it) I even heard 2 people in reception also asking for help to get theirs open...why can't they just buy normal ones...not ones which resemble a bank vault. Also in the morning the staff messed up my order as I asked for my eggs to be scrambled not fried. The toilets in the bar beside the beach and the lift smells like someone died in there which I'm sure is easy to fix. Apart from that I had an enjoyable stay...I may return in the future and hope to see these improvements.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Barfine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

I had a 3 day 2 night stay at the Wild Orchid, Subic Bay. The parking lot was big and easy to safely park my car. Checked into a "Superior Room" one hour early with no problems. The room was spacious with a King Bed, Sofa, Desk, Dining table, full kitchen, bathroom and dressing room. Air Conditioning was very good but unit made constant noise. At night it was useful as white noise to help you sleep. The Television was on the small side for this size of a room. The room was very clean and no bugs.

Three restaurant/bars to eat and drink at. All had good food and drink but service was very poor and slow by unattentive staff at the Barefoot Bar and Scalliwags. The staff seemed to care about their own time schedules and needs but not the customers needs. The exception was Moby Dicks Bar which also served some food. The ambiance was very good and the staff was excellent on refilling drinks and addressing customer needs.

The pool is large and clean. Great for swimming!! Nice poolside tables and chairs to relax too.

The Barefoot Bar had live music at night with a good band that takes requests. However, the Barefoot Bar is in need of some updating and paint. Again, the service there is very poor from the staff with very long wait times for service food and drinks. Outside the Barefoot Bar is the Beach. Boloy Beach is Boloy Beach...what more can I say.

Overall, the Wild Orchid was a comfortable place to stay but slightly over priced for what you were getting. Especially when Staff tells you that no outside food and drink is allowed and your suite has a full kitchen. Makes no sense, other than they want you to be hungry in your room so you clean out and pay for the minibar along with paying higher prices in their bar/restaurants.

I hope The Wild Orchid takes time to train their staff on hospitality and Service to the paying Customer. You will find some good staff members there but they are hard to find. Checkout was easy but I had to wait while someone went to my room to check the status of the minibar and room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are most expensive in hotel but they are large and have good views with many windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francisr568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Good sized rooms that are now a bit old and dated m? Great bar and fantastic pool. Food is average for the price but lots of places nearby for eating out Prices are well above other places but the difference is worth it

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank JohnJoeMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.2 km away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
278 reviews
3.6 km away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#3 of 19 in Olongapo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#6 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
520 reviews
3.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#4 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
147 reviews
4.3 km away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#11 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay

Address: Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: ₱3,414 - ₱8,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay Hotel Subic Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing