We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities. Poorly Managed. Disappointing”
Review of Acea Subic Bay

Acea Subic Bay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acea Subic Bay
Reviewed November 16, 2017

I don't usually leave reviews for Hotels, but in this case I felt obliged....
The hotel itself is excellent; great facilities, good room, nice views, good swimming pool, nice beach, and caters well for small children. The management of it is truly awful!

Check-in/check-out was a shambles and both took 45 minutes with only 1 member of staff on the counter.
Check-out is 12 noon, so you would expect that a lot of people check-out at this time, therefore have more staff!
Restaurant, terrible. Very little options on the menu, like 6 dishes and all overpriced.
Breakfast is a buffet, but when we arrived at 8:30 (breakfast starts at 7), there was nothing left..literally. We ended up with white bread and a small omelet. No pancakes, no bacon, no fruit. Coffee was way too strong like it had been sat for hours.
Dinner menu is the same so every day we were forced to go to find other resorts that offered food options (all at least 20 minutes drive). I booked this place as i wanted a stay in a resort where i could relax for 3 days not have to leave to get food.

I'm writing this in the hope that the management read it and fix the issues. For such a nice resort its such a let down and I won't be going back or recommending to anyone. Fix the restaurant and add more staff/train them better and this could be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarkJ8hns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2017

Service at the restaurant very slow. Took 30 min. to get a menu card. The restaurant was only 20% full. Then we were ready to order our waiter was cleaning up another table, what was the hurry? After we placed our order took another 30 min. to get the food, not so bad. Seems staff needs more training, they are friendy just not very professional. Our room was ok, also our key card hardly worked, sometimes took 10 min to get in. Pool was ok, but not very clear, a bit milky. the See was pretty good. Wanted to use the jetski but could only use it very limited area. The worst was at checkout. They had someone to see if anything was missing, 1glass worth about 50 cents, and a flashlight worth about I guess 5/10 dollars was missing. Now they said were is it. I find it a good idea that they check the rooms at the end but they should go through a check list at the start when we enter the room. The flashlight was never there missing from the start, and the glass at the 1 day was 4 glass but after room service the second day they could see we were only 3 persons so maybe they left only 3 glasses. I really never took anything from a hotel room.At the end they did not charge anything for the missing stuff. Breakfast was a sad story. 1star breakfast, Lunch and dinner 4 star, pretty good.Both nights very loud, second night called at 11pm if they could checkout where the noise was coming from, like 6/8 jumping talking very loud. The staff took care of the problem within 10 min. which was very positive.

Room Tip: Nice view 5 star, food 3/4 star. service 3 star, price 4 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on a weekday. There were just 2 booked rooms in total. So we had the place for ourselves. The main pool was clean but the kiddie pool was somehow dirty maybe because we were just 2 families booked there. Breakfast was okay, you can choose from their menu. Husband did not like the free "powdered" juice. There were just many insects/mosquitoes everywhere. Pool area, restaurant, outside the rooms (which gets inside whenever we open the door). I think they should place insect killers because there were none. We were not able to go to the beach and the kiddie play area. They have 2 queen beds which can be moved together because we have a toddler. Extra person fee was 1500 per night (inc breakfast) but they don't have an extra bed. It was just a little tiring to walk from the parking to the rooms and if you have a stroller, you have to carry it to the 2nd floor. We should have a ground floor room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay so we'll definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank eynaa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Acea Subic Bay has become in recent years an ideal place to host an international level triathlon. I first swam the leg course of their beach last February 2017 during the Tri United 1 Olympic distance triathlon but my family and i didn't stay at this beach resort. A month ago we decided to check it out.

We checked in for one night and the service was very good. We were checked in quickly and were given welcome drinks of sweetened lemon/lemon grass/cucumber concoction. Very refreshing.

We (myself, wife, 2 teenage kids) were escorted to our room. However the key card did not work and we couldn't get in right away and waited outside while the escort went back to the desk to get new key cards. The room itself was decent sized with 2 queen beds, a 36" flat screen tv, a well appointed bathroom. Amenities were close to 5 star. We had a balcony that overlooked the infinity pool and beachfront. This room on the 2nd floor was more premium priced.

The beach as i mentioned was nice though far from Boracay quality but it was clean. The pool on the other hand on the day we were there was murky. The breakfast buffet was very sparse which was disappointing considering the price we were paying. We did not eat meals at the hotel as we drove into Subic Bay area for dinner and lunch. What's nice about this resort is it is away from the maddening crowd of main Subic area. So it was at least peaceful. WIFI was strong and the gym was nice.

Overall a very good stay but for the price we expected more.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank isordonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

One of a wonderful place to visit inside Subic Bay! We had a great time during our stay, the food is a world class quality and a very relaxing bed room you have there, and a well maintain clean swimming pool We are very happy and satisfy. You deserve a 5 star from us. Thank you and keep up the good work. ✋

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0 km away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
277 reviews
0 km away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#6 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
520 reviews
0 km away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#5 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
147 reviews
0 km away
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
0 km away
Le Charme Suites
Le Charme Suites
#1 of 3 in Subic
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acea Subic Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acea Subic Bay

Address: San Bernardino Road | Freeport Zone, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: ₱7,919 - ₱9,544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acea Subic Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Acea Subic Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing