We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Encounter”
Review of Porto Deli

Porto Deli
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Calitzdorp
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An opportunity not to be missed, whilst travelling along the Route 62! In the town that makes Port Wine, we have opened a lovely Portuguese Restaurant, that specializes in Portuguese/African dishes. Voted in the top 10 restaurants in the Little Karoo region in 2014 and top 500 in SA! Local Art work on display. We bake fresh Portuguese bread daily.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I was taken by surprise to find in the middle of the Karoo town of Calitzdorp a Portuguese Restaurant. The service of the owner and the food quality was great and the taste took me back. Freshly made bread was to die for.

Thank Henrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, Owner at Porto Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, which is truly appreciated by our team. We are so glad you enjoyed your time and meal with us. Owners Deon and Mize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

The artwork, music and the fantastic hostess creates a lovely atmosphere that you do not want to leave. The food was great and the whole experience wonderful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, Owner at Porto Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Owners Deon and Mize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had dinner at Porto Deli. Excellent food! The espetada was really enjoyable. Corkage is a bit steep at R50, but that is minor.

Thank SeppieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvr3dstudio, Owner at Porto Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback which we really appreciate. Best regards, Owners, Deon and Mize'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We came to the hotel on the recommendation of our hotel and were not disappointed we had fish and steak and both were excellant although what will stay in my memory most was the portuguese custard tart which was divine

Thank Lawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, Owner at Porto Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to serve you again in the near future. Best regards Deon and Mize'. Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

The chef owner is from Portugal’s Alentejo district and her cuisine is as genuinely Portuguese as can be done in this relatively remote place in South Africa. She herself is very friendly and the servers extremely pleasant and attentive. The power in the town was out when we had dinner but that didn’t diminish either the good food or the good cheer.

Thank Newton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvr3dstudio, Owner at Porto Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thsnk you so much for your positive feedback which inspires us to even do more next time around. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and time with us. Hope to see you again one day soon. Best regards Deon and Mize'. (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Deli also viewed

 
Calitzdorp, Western Cape
 
Calitzdorp, Western Cape
 

Been to Porto Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing