We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hole in the wall”
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: All of Café Rio’s offerings are made from scratch.Our recipes have been accumulated through years of professional cooking and employ the highest quality ingredients obtainable.We welcome both questions and comments on the origins and ingredients of our preparations.We hope you feel at home and we look forward to your return visit.-The Management and Staff at Café Rio
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Pizza is amazing! Brick oven taste is the best! Huge slices!! Gets pretty busy and wait times could be long but so worth it!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mel2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Cafe Rio is located in the middle of the main shopping area so parking is probably best on a side street. The pizza has handmade crust and is crisp but not too thin. The ingredients are fresh and flavorful. My husband and I split a smaller size and my 2 teenagers split a large. We were all satisfied, but be warned, the large is really pretty big. Don’t bother with the jambalaya- it is from a bag and definitely not as good as the pizza. The location is small and waiting outside may be necessary. They only take cash and checks. The only problem we experienced was when one of our party asked for hot chocolate and was told they were out and then we watch the waitstaff serve mug after mug of hot chocolate to others. It was puzzling.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TexasMom333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

Handmade, literally Hand Tossed pizza, "Jumbo" will feed 4 to 6 people ...or 2 hungry teenaged boys. Better get there EARLY on a weekend, very limited seating. The whole staff WORK here, they also help each other out at tables which make for better efficiency (so be sure to Tip well!). NOTE: it's a CASH-ONLY place, but don't run to the Bank, they have an ATM onsite. Realize, when the place is buzzing, ypu can't expect "pleasant greetings" at the front/ Pizza-maker entrance. Overlook any abrupt curtness, and be patient for a warm place & fresh ingredient pizza.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank NightSky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

This is an excellent place to order, pick up, and drive away with a pizza but a poor place to eat one. Their pizzas are very good, and you’re never too old to enjoy to watch an expert twirl pizza dough. But the interior is small, run down, crowded, and noisy. Also, you’ll need to go to the restaurant to place your order. We made several attempts to call in our order, but they never answered, except once to pick up the receiver and hang up.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LanceWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2019

Best pizza joint in town but we generally opt for the Greek salad. The large one is big enough for two.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing