We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional New Mexico Holiday Favorites”

Jane Butel Cooking School
Ranked #7 of 11 things to do in Corrales
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn to cook Southwestern-style by whipping up some of the greatest salsas, tamales, and blue-corn chiles rellenos this side of Mexico.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Having made recipes from Jane Butel's cookbooks for years, I was still blown away by how much there was to learn about techniques and ingredients in cooking her delicious recipes. Jane entertained our fun group with history, and family stories connecting to her recipes. In our traditional holiday meal we learned how to make tamales that were the best I have ever eaten. Our other dishes were Posole, red chile sauce,guacamole, margaritas, and bizcochitos. All were outstanding, you wont' find better. If you want to learn how to make Jane Butel's authentic recipes, first hand, from an expert, I highly recommend joining one of the many classes she offers. Her classes are taught in her home, with the feel of a family gathering. I have already signed up for another one.

Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janebutel, Owner at Jane Butel Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so very much for your generous praise, Peggy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 4 reviews
"dishes"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"weekend"
in 6 reviews
"company"
in 3 reviews
"list"
in 2 reviews
"home"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

A friend and I just spent the weekend at Jane’s cooking school. I learned more here in a very short time than I could have ever expected. With my new skills I acquired during this cooking class I’m very confident that I can make some of the very best NM Mexican cuisine that is available anywhere! The recipes we worked with have been handed down through the decades from Jane’s grandmother. They are well tested and all outcomes are exceptional. Many of them are with far fewer ingredients that you will find in many of the recipes that are out there. You know the ones that wear you out just looking at the list if ingredients and steps to go through to make a dish. Jane was available throughout the day to provide help with techniques, assistance and to answer any questions you have. On top of it all, it was fun. I’m already planning to attend another weekend class, this time with our husbands. I would highly recommend any of Jane’s classes to anyone that is serious about learning about cooking Southwestern dishes or just come with friends to have a great time!

Thank SEAsiatraveler293924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janebutel, Owner at Jane Butel Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks Jane--you were a great asset to the class. Your enthusiasm, skills and sense of humor was a wonderful addition. I look forward to staying in touch and cooking together in the future! All the best, Jane Butel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I recently took a five day "Tex Mex" cooking class from Ms. Jane Butel in Corrales, NM. The experience exceeded my high expectations. Not only did we have a lot of hands on experience with a wide range of recipes, but there were many "not to miss" tips that you can take home and apply to many cooking situations.

The history discussions that took place every morning about cooking in the region provided fascinating information. Ms. Butel is a riveting individual. She has had a lifetime of unique experiences that are a basis for her wealth of information and cooking expertise. The locale is charming and inviting. Not to miss if you have the opportunity.

Thank Gus_Abq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janebutel, Owner at Jane Butel Cooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks so very much for such kind and wonderful words. I really enjoy giving the classes and your class was indeed very, very special. Jane Butel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Loved Jane's class I had to repeat! Jane can teach and demo in most fun ways and menus are awesome. She causes fun and knowledge to be delicious and traditional.
For a good time (smie) and class New Mexican cooking, call Jane ! I'll be back!

1  Thank posole_junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My wife took Jane's weekend class and I got to enjoy the outstanding lunch they created today. I have been eating this style food for 67 years (being born and raised in New Mexico) and this was bar none, the best I have ever tasted. For the first time in my life I could not pick a favorite dish as everything was just that good. Jane also made me feel like an honored guest in her friendly kitchen.

2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane Butel Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Jane Butel Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing