We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Priceline
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/01/22
Agoda.com
$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/01/22
Travelocity$70
Trip.com$66
Hurb$78
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
10
10
9
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
10
9
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool needs improvement outstanding hotel pool towels night stay rooms are spacious live band ocean view pools elevator consumable ang floor toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 43 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2021

Stayed for 4 days. Very nice hotel room but you need to re train your front desk staff on how to improve customer skills, like being pleasant, attention to details, HOW TO SMILE etc since its a service industry.

However, I would like to commend your housekeeping staff for a job well done especially Ms Angel, inspite beng busy cleaning other rooms, she managed to grant my request.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 957maanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback and for your recent stay. We will remind our staff of the need to be more attentive and pleasant when dealing with the guests. As for smiles, not sure that is possible, given the current requirements to wear a mask 100% of the time. It's definitely hard to see a smile through a mask. As for the comment about Ms. Angel, it is duly noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2021

Hotel has tastefully appointed rooms (albeit getting a bit worn and needing TLC) and a great view if you choose one of the full sea view rooms on higher floors. But the positives end there, unfortunately. Room rate of P9000 per night for 2 adults includes only some of what you see in the room -- if you ask for an additional pillow (there are only 2 pancake-like old pillows in the room for 2 adults), you are charged P100 per pillow, if you ask for a cover/blanket, you are charged upwards of P200+, the tiny water bottle (bottled by the hotel, we are not talking branded water bottles here) is free but the normal-sized small bottle is chargeable, and the list continues from there. Front desk staff would benefit from training – they are rude, unresponsive and do not understand they are the face of the hotel when a guest first checks in. If you call the reception from your room, the phone does not get answered or the person answering it pretends they are not the front desk – happened twice and when I asked about this to the front desk, the ladies just giggled as if bringing an elderly guest to the lobby for a simple request is acceptable behavior. Check-in takes more than half an hour per guest as there are several ladies at the front desk but only one of them works, while the other terminals remain vacant. They do offer 20% discount on room rates if room rate and security deposit are paid in cash, and only cash. Payment cannot be made with a debit card or GCash because "they would show on the terminal and people can see"...uhm, who can see? Strange. Wifi worked well the first day but not the second day. But most disconcerting factor for me was the lack of safety measures. Be very careful of COVID-related safety measures if you decide to stay at this hotel -- very hard to find hand sanitizer, even alcohol around the common areas in the hotel, or even at the reception/lobby area. More than 4 people crowd into elevator. I offered to show my vaccine card at check-in (which I thought was a requirement for hotel guests) and I was told "no need" by the senior agent at the front desk. Anybody can walk in without even a temperature check – the most basic of safety measures. There are two small pools in the hotel -- one that is an extension of the lobby and it is crowded in by dining tables for breakfast, lunch; and one on the 6th floor -- again surrounded by dining tables and which operates after 4 pm only – no entry before then, due to staffing shortages. Both extremely loud, with kids splashing in the pool and spraying guests trying to eat nearby. Pool cleanliness is not monitored -- some of the guests were swimming in the sea with their clothes on and then jumping in the pool – it felt more like a river in the neighborhood than a hotel pool. Solo travelling women – be careful about walking out at night, there are "girlie lounges," pawnshops across the hotel, and the clientele they attract. Hotel guests are accosted by vendors at the beach exit and by panhandlers in front of the main exit. Balut sellers start yelling up at the balconies to get guests' attention from 5:30 am and vendors loudly hawking their wares fill the day and early evening. They do have some ramps around the hotel for mobility impaired but they are not very consistently placed for full access.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trippin2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2021

Dear Guest, Based on your comments, it seems nothing in the hotel met your satisfaction. I am sorry to hear that. I am really not sure how to address so many complaints so I won't even try....the pool, the beach, the area, etc...what else?. We already have two of the largest swimming pools in the area and the only hotel with a pool located on a rooftop and you still aren't satisfied. I will say that we have taken measures to address the responsiveness of the front desk by installing additional phone lines and adding staff. Hopefully those measures will make a significant improvement.

We are obviously never going to satisfy your other requirements so we will leave it at that and not bore the readers with a lengthy reply. I don't think we are the hotel for you. We appreciate the fact that you did give the hotel a try and wish you better stays for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2021

The rooms are well laid out and our room had great cool A/C. We paid around P9000 /room. The best working part of the hotel was housekeeping. The room was very clean. The front desk employees were very slow and Check-In took 45 minutes. We paid for two nights of our room upon check-in and reserved for another two nights. We approached the front desk on our first night and wanted to pay for the remaining two nights to be told that our room had already been booked for the fourth night and we would need to vacate the room. Not wishing to give our hard-earned money to a hotel that made us unwelcome we agreed to leave one day early rather than fight the front desk to stay for one more night. On our second day after returning from lunch, we found our room keys had been deactivated and the hotel front desk admonished us for checking out late and slapped on a late check-out fee! It took about an hour to clean up their mess. Incompetent, unprofessional, uncaring would describe the front desk/reservation employees that made us feel unwelcome throughout our stay. Pity. The beachfront is very nice but starts getting loud at 5.30 a.m. onwards as vendors, hawkers of all types start peddling their wares and even shouting up to the rooms. There's no sitting on the beach as there are more vendors than guests even in the hotel-owned part of the beach as multiple vendors lounge/occupy this area of the beach. Beggars accost you at the hotel entrance every time you arrive/depart. Not a pleasant experience at P9000/night...

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for the feedback. I can see from your post that you were so upset about us not having available rooms for the extra days that you even decided to check out a day earlier and give us a low rating here. Unfortunately, we had other guests who had already booked the rooms so we could not extend your booking without risking not having a room for them when they arrive. When we accept a booking and confirm it, it would be unfair to not have a room available for those guests when they arrive. Approved extensions are based on availability. We do not overbook and hope that someone will not show up. Of course, we would like to accommodate everyone, but we have a finite number of rooms and they are in high demand, especially on the weekends. As for our front desk staff, they are trying their best to accommodate everyone. When you instructed them to shorten your booking, you told them you were not going to stay the second night and therefore you should have checked out at noon without need for a reminder. Obviously you have stayed at many hotels based on your review history so you are aware that hotels have checkout times. I can’t understand why you would think you are entitled to check out anytime you like after 12 noon and then get mad about it when your card was deactivated.

Now with regards to the issue with the vendors on the beachfront, unfortunately it is part of the culture and way of life in the Philippines. The beachfront is public property and we cannot say who can go there and when. That said though, we will be meeting with the local barangay officials to ask them for assistance to keep these vendors from disturbing the guests. That comment is constructive and well taken.

In closing, we apologize for not being able to accommodate the additional nights, but we will never purposely overbook and risk not being able to accommodate a guest to whom we have confirmed a reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2021

Took 45mins to checked in, only one Cashier/Receptionist incharged in check in even though they have 3 booths.
Walk-in & Pre booked Guest are in one line. So just like us who booked in advance had to wait in line with the walk in guests. After checking in no butler or assistance going to the room. You have to ask directions

And for security deposit they do not accept credit Card but they are accepting credit card for Room payment

Shampoo and toothpaste are for sale and not complementary

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Wimmcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2021

Dear Guest....We apologize for the wait time you may have experienced. It seems that you arrived on a weekend or sold out date. During the weekends, the hotel is usually fully booked and therefore when everyone arrives at check-in time, someone will have to wait to check in. As you stated, we have 3 check in booths, but when there are 100+ check-ins, not everyone can be addressed right on time. We try our best and hope for the understanding of the guests.

With regards to the 'no butler' comment, that is not true. We do have butlers and carts to assist with the luggage and check-in. Again, with 100+ check-ins on peak days, there may be a wait time to get that assistance.

Finally, I need to correct another statement you made. All the rooms do have complimentary shampoo, toothbrushes and toothpaste. In addition, we have some saleable items in the rooms for your convenience.

In closing, again, my apology for the wait time to check in. We will take another look at our process and see if there is anyway to streamline it during the peak days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2021

We have frequented this outstanding hotel since it’s opening and find the same root-problem, no Captain.. in dying need of an active floor manager. Reef is on auto pilot, any manager must be out the back or behind reception. An amazing design, well appointed rooms with the best linens, curtains, bathrooms and air con. I have so much good to say about this hotel.

We noticed the problem quickly on our first stay, spending some of the morning in the ground floor pool-restaurant area. I noticed wet pool towels piling up around. We were hoping to use a lounge chair but they were all covered in wet towels. We went out for a couple of hours and returned to see the same piles of wet towels. An active floor-manager would spot this and might quickly address it.

The swimmers didn’t seem to mind moving between the diners while dripping wet. Water is everywhere. The wet swimmers walk through the lobby, into and out of the lifts… the whole reception floor is constantly wet, all around check in too. Occasionally the staff would mop it up, ready for the next dripping wet guest following a few moments later. Mostly they would put a token ’Slippery when wet’ sign there and they’d think the problem is solved. I couldn’t help thinking that an active floor-manager would notice this and could put a simple system in place.

We found an area dry enough to accommodate us. Just as my wife and kids and I began eating, a smoker hiding around the corner lit up a smoke stinking out our meal. I eventually found the source and asked her to stop doing it, and to use the smoking area. An active floor-manager would stop it and spare me the trouble of engaging with her rather than enjoying our brunch.

Recently we returned to our favorite Jacuzzi suite costing around 9,000 PhP per night. Wanting to avoid the feeling of dining in the middle of public swimming pools, the upstairs pool and restaurant (that are more suitably separate) is the main attraction. I asked before checking-in if these facilities were now open? I was told they are and food service was from 4pm until 11pm. I asked “But can we go and swim?” Upon a confirmation ‘yes’ I paid, and checked in.

No sooner had the kids jumped in the upstairs pool we are told to leave, being told this swimming area opens not until 4pm….. huh? So this beautiful facility that attracted us here, we are not allowed to use. Feeling perplexed we returned at dinner time, determined to get more value for our 9k than just going to sleep. We were seated for dinner and within minutes a band started playing at an amazing excessive 100DB plus…. At night club volume nobody could have a conversation, my kids had fingers plugging their own ears. The tables began to empty out and we too left. We did try to ask them to turn it down but that was not apparently possible… or they couldn’t hear the request I was shouting over the screaming band. I wonder if an active floor-manager could have helped get everyone happy?

The next morning we woke in the most beautiful bed, air-con and blackout curtains…. Only to all be spoiled by the vendors standing on the beach calling up to the suites windows, hollering Balouuut …! Something unacceptable that could easily be controlled by an active manager.

We were again forced to use the crowded downstairs swim-eatery. There are no available tables… guests are crammed in, all wet, people jostling for a seat.. all during a pandemic. The additional seating areas that are cordoned off are for sale at an additional 3,500p (consumable). All while there is a perfectly good open air restaurant upstairs that we are not allowed to use.

PS - All four cooked breakfasts were served completely cold.

Upon questioning the front desk on the logic of their ‘Policy’ I was told its a manpower policy.. and “the staff transfer upstairs at 4:00pm”. Okay so guests like us pay 9,000p for a room but they don’t want to pay staff to sell us food and drinks, and won’t let us swim there until night time, while being subjected to an overly noisy live band.

Living less than 1 hour drive away we would come here all the time... but only if they would just get a floor-manager to control these things.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Park Reef, General Manager at Central Park Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2021

Dear Mr. Smithers, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience at the Central Park Reef. Let me first assure you that the beautiful ship does have a captain and we hear you. Operating this hotel is challenging given the fact that we are in the midst of a pandemic and hiring/training is very difficult. Hence the reason for choosing to only to operate one swimming pool and restaurant at a given time. When we get out of this situation, we will certainly re-evaluate the operation and add services where we can.

As for the wet towels, and smoking issues, unfortunately some guests choose not to be considerate and ignore the signs and rules. I have instructed the staff to pay more attention in these areas so as to not inconvenience or annoy the other guests.

With respect to the loudness of the band at the rooftop, we did have an issue with our equipment which we have since resolved. I believe that issue is corrected now.

Thank you again for pointing out the issues that you have. All are being addressed the best we can given the uncharted waters that operating in a COVID pandemic present.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews