We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Le Coin Francais

Le Coin Francais
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Description: “Le Coin Français” embodies the essence of the Franschhoek valley by reflecting the heritage, elegant French cuisine and wine of the local area. Multiple award-winning Chef de cuisine and owner, Darren Badenhorst (previously executive chef of The Restaurant at Grande Provence), will take diners on a journey through his interpretations of nostalgic food memories.
Restaurant details
Description: “Le Coin Français” embodies the essence of the Franschhoek valley by reflecting the heritage, elegant French cuisine and wine of the local area. Multiple award-winning Chef de cuisine and owner, Darren Badenhorst (previously executive chef of The Restaurant at Grande Provence), will take diners on a journey through his interpretations of nostalgic food memories.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We were there a few days after opening night. Perhaps a few service niggles (understandable as the staff just needed to get their groove going), but nothing major, the food definitely made up for it. We really enjoyed the fact that some of the dishes were kept as a surprise, hope they continue with that. The monkfish was out of this world!!

Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_coin_francais, Owner at Le Coin Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your wonderful feedback to my staff.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I must tell you here is a must visit and if you have never eaten fine cuisine be well assured this place will meet up your expectations and top it all up for you. Best taste ever

Thank Jesse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_coin_francais, Owner at Le Coin Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your wonderful feedback to my staff.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved it. We had the 8 course Chef's Journey and enjoyed every part of it. Jaw-dropping to be such a calm kitchen - no idea how Darren manages to produce such spectacular food with so little drama! Attentive wait staff, enthusiastic and knowledgeable sommelier, perfectly paced serving, good acoustics, beautiful plates, soft music ... a really faultless fine dining experience at a very reasonable price point. (I hope it doesn't change as the restaurant's popularity grows!) I loved that Darren came out to each table explain his surprise course of the evening - a nice personal touch. Every course (with the possible exception of the palate cleanser which was a tiny bit on the sweet side, I thought) was sensational but if I had to pick favourites I would say the smoky langoustine and the fabulously complex chocolate dessert. We will be back!

Thank IngridW_CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_coin_francais, Owner at Le Coin Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words-I will pass on your wonderful feedback to my staff.

We look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

If you visit Franschhoek for the dining experiences within the village,this has GOT to be on your list. the food is exquisitly presented and the different taste sensations in each course are amazing. The Restaurant is right in the Village centre near Woolworth's,so a great location. Each course is created and presented by the Chef /Owner. Not always the case in some other establishments which can be a disappointment. It is a good idea to make a booking in advance for the evenings but you may not find it so necessary for the three course lunch if you arrive fairly early. Have visited before and will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKSwallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_coin_francais, Owner at Le Coin Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words-I will pass on your wonderful feedback to my staff.

We look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Le Coin Francais is superb even by the standards of Franschhoek. The attention to detail ,not only in the food, but also in the modern French ambience and decor. Darren’s food is exquisite : amazing varieties of local vegetables and herbs, often foraged by Darren himself, compliment South African meat, fish and poultry in small but filling portions. The tastes can vary from subtle to explosive, but always delicious. The taster menus are a must preferably with the local complementing wines. The service from Webster, Levi and the team was excellent as well as from Jasper doing front of house and Nash as Sommelier. Whether sitting on the terrace with bubbles and lunch or inside for an evening one cannot have a more enjoyable couple of hours.

Thank lindtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_coin_francais, Owner at Le Coin Francais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Good day,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your wonderful feedback to my staff.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coin Francais also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Coin Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing