We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Official Hotel
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
166
56
18
8
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
166
56
18
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next year mirador floor boardwalk wildwood office robert efficiency june
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2019

The room was what we expected. The view was spectacular. The only two problems, the pool closes at 7:00 each evening. Why? We only made it to the pool once because of the strange hours. And the parking is awful. So many of us drive SUV's now. They just barely fit into the spaces. A solution is necessary.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 001vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobDGeneralManager, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Glad you enjoyed the view from our resort, and that your stay met your expectations. Our pool closes at that time for the safety of our guests, and as to not cause noise disruptions. The beach makes for a great alternative to the pool, especially at sunset. We'd be happy to welcome you back another time!

Best wishes,
Rob D., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

My family has been going to this hotel for the last 6 years. It’s a great location, closest walk to the beach and boardwalk, but the hotel itself needs some work. This is the first year it wasn’t specified our room would be in the hall right in front of the elevator and stairs, no light and banging all night long. With a 6 month old this isn’t the best spot to be...especially booking 6 months in advance. The rooms are restocked promptly everyday which is great, but somethings just don’t make this place worth 250$Plus a night, updates would make this hotel a lot better. The mattresses are so old only one person can sleep in the double or you roll towards the middle of the bed. The WiFi is slow and you can’t get on the internet. The TVs are blurry and staticky.The showers pipes must be messed up because the bath spout and shower head both have water coming out at the same time. the only elevator is SO slow, very annoying if you have 3 kids in strollers that want to get to the room. There is a pool on site but never has a life guard on duty and closes super early 10am-6, night swimming like other hotels would be great on super hot nights. All in all we will unfortunately be looking into other hotels next year for our annual wildwood vacation.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Acodamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail20447263198, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Acodamo, I'm sorry that this year's visit didn't hit the mark for you. I'm curious to know if the staff was aware of your niece prior to your room assignment. The room you had rented was a non view breezeway unit. These unit are marked specifically on our website as to there location. Also, due to NJ State law we are not required to have a lifeguard on duty at our pool.

Sincerely,
Rob D., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

Arrived at hotel at 1230 pm and check in was at 3pm but room was already cleaned and ready to go so we were able to check in early. Room safe was not working and staff worked quickly and diligently till the problem was resolved and we had a working safe. Room was cleaned quickly in the morning and to our satisfaction always plently of fresh towels. Hotel pool was small and kind of warm but ocean with refreshing cool ( not cold ) water was a short walk from hotel it offered a nice balance between the two. Parking is tight but we were never without a spot. Hotel had free wi-Fi access with strong signal yet it was very difficult using internet during our stay at hotel. Not sure why this was possible too many people operating off the same server. During day and night guests were well behaved and it was obvious that hotel mgmt does not tolerate any balley hoo or other horse play. In conclusion I would stay at this hotel again and reccomend it to friends and family.
Also wanted to note how amazing the beach is here. Boardwalk has plenty of space for breakfast opening as early as 6 within walking distance to hotel. For sit down dining I recommend menz in rio grande and yuriz restaurant both had excellent food with different but great atmosphere.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rock229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail20447263198, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

It's a pleasure to get our guests in their rooms ASAP! I'm relieved that we got you a working safe quickly. As your security is always important to us. Although the pool wasn't quite as cool as you like, it's nice to see the beach was a great alternative. We would love for you, your friends, and family to stay with us in the future.

Best,
Rob D., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

We stayed in a type 6 patio room over the 4th of July week. This hotel has about 9 different types of room, but they picked our type for us once I explained our needs as a family. Given I have a stroller for a baby and a big beach cart, they put us in a room with an extended patio walkway out front of the door. (Second floor over the parking lot) There is only one part of this hotel with that feature and it was perfect. All of the other walkways are narrow and lined with chairs and other people’s beach toys. Getting a stroller through there was so frustrating! We had our own outdoor table and chairs and loungers to use right by our door with room to park our beach cart outside.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I had an issue of smelling marijuana coming into my bedroom from another room and maintenance sorted it out quickly.

The pool was great! Quick and clean elevators. Huge fridge! Excellent walking distance to the ocean and tram cars.

My only negative would be with housekeeping. They came at 945am every day to clean the room. That is way too early to expect people to be out of their rooms when they aren’t checking out. We put out the “do not disturb” sign but getting our room cleaned at a reasonable time was a hassle. 11-12 would be a better time.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail20447263198, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2019

Judith, thank you for voicing your needs from the start. This allows us to make sure each family is comfortable when staying with us. As for the matter concerning our other guests, we are sorry you had to deal with that, but we are relieved maintenance sorted it out promptly. We're also disappointed housekeeping disturbed you. If you ever stay with us in the future, make sure to let us know you'd prefer housekeeping to come from 11 to 12, and we'll make it happen.

Thanks for reaching out,
Rob D., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

What a joy from start to finish. The desk people were very friendly and helpful. They gave suggestions, directions,and helpful information. The room was perfectly clean and new and contained everything needed. Nice playground on property. Location perfect to beachfront and boardwalk right next to the property.Needed items just across the deadend street, food, icecream, beach store just around the corner. Boardwalk to rides games, food walkable by boardwalk or tram ride. Loved it all!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail20447263198, Owner at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Good job taking advantage of having the beach as a front yard and some of the other attractions that make our resort unique, Margie. We agree the perks of having ice cream, a beach store, and dining options a stone's throw from us is awesome which you wisely mentioned. We look forward to providing the same hospitality next time you're in the area!

Thank you,
Rob D., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews