We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait time sucked”

Donatella's Ristorante
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 15/05
20:00
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ok it’s 10pm and we had a 730 reservation but still no dinners. Lousy Old Fashioned. Just a fail due to the wait time

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank abranca6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2021

Donatella’s is a very special place. Warm, cozy outdoor igloos, excellent food, and amazing, attentive service. We were delighted with the entire experience! Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank ramahh2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Tonight we went out with our friends to Donatella's. We never visited it and we found they opened only a year ago. It took a 5 minute wait to get seated at which point we were shown to our table. It took another few minutes to finish setting the table up. We wanted to order a wine bottle and Alessandro who took our order suggested an Amarone. We took his recommendation and were happy we did, the Amarone was delicious. For appetizers we ordered the Minestrone, Salad, Tuna Tartar and stuffed artichoke. All were delicious and the I really enjoyed the Minestrone.
For entrees, I had the Veal Mushroom. The veal was thin and the sauce was delicious. We also ordered the Risotto, which was a mushroom Risotto. The Risotto was was of the better Risotto's I had at a restaurat and was well seasoned. Our friends had the seafood pasta and fillet. They said both were delicious and the fillet was cooked to perfection.
Service was not perfect, but was compensated by the great hospitality of Alessandro. It was a pleasure to be hosted by him and he made sure we had a great time.
We'll definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HighTechTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Upon arrival we were promptly seated. We were a party of 3 and were seated at a table for 4, where the bus boy removed two place settings. He was gone in a flash so we needed to flag down another bus boy to get one place setting back. After sitting for 20+ minutes, we had to ask the hostess for our waiter as we hadn't even been offered a drink yet! The manager came and finally took our drink order with no apology. Our appetizer and dinner came out out fine. In ordering the second round, they made a mistake on one of the drinks, which we decided not to complain about as we could see they were having problems. We ordered dessert, one was correct the other was wrong and the third one was completely forgotten! When the bill came, my Side Car ($10) was charged at $13 as a Martini just because I asked it be served in a Martini glass! A $3 upcharge for a glass? There were numerous other small misses not worth mentioning. At the very least they could of comped us a round of drinks or dessert, but nothing!

We will never be going back!

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank 408tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2020

We were driving by from New City and saw this restaurant in Old Tappan we did a u-turn and it was a memory on its own,beautiful view excellent food, good portions very flavorful,prices seemed fair, kudos to the ownership seemed they do care for their patrons,I loved it everything about this place,food was really really good an amazing we are definitely going back again.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelwI7419OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donatella's Ristorante also viewed

Harrington Park, NJ
Harrington Park, NJ
 

Been to Donatella's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.