We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Picnic on the grass with Olympia in Ratty's place!

Lovely lovely lovely. I was so lucky to pick this out of the list of Day Trips from NYC in Time... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
fly108
via mobile
Unique Experience at Grounds for Sculpture. A MUST TO SEE.

In my opinion Grounds for Sculpture is a truly unique experience . It is the perfect destination... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
0721_D
,
New York City, New York
Read all 1,963 reviews
  
Reviews (1,963)
Filter reviews
1,963 results
Traveler rating
1,638
257
38
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,638
257
38
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every turn rat's restaurant new jersey all ages amazing sculptures welcome center walk around can't wait to go back van gogh art peacocks exhibits acres paths nj treasure scenes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,929 - 1,934 of 1,963 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We have visited this park multiple times with my daughter. From young child to teen, she has always enjoyed it. The park consists of numerous outside scupltures and settings as well as buildings that house more delicate scupltures.

The best time to visit is in the spring, summer, and fall - anytime that walking around outside would be good. Kids can work out their energy running around as well as experience contemporary art.

There are various events throughout the year - many of them free - where art workshops are held or performances (music, readings) occur. For example,one autumn program had families building sculptures out of corn stalks.

Some special things - the peacocks that roam the grounds, the water scupltures, the fireplace room (especially when it is a little chilly), climbing the gazebo tower.

While we have not eaten at Rats, we have enjoyed food at both the Gazebo and the Cafe. The food was delicious but typical museum prices. For families, the kids meals are from $4-6 and doesn't include a beverage.

I've included photos from a few years ago - exhibits change so some of these may no longer be there.
website:http://www.groundsforsculpture.org/

1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We visited the Grounds for Sculpture at the end of March as the trees and shrubs were beginning to bloom. The grounds are extensive, well laid out and very well kept. There was extensive "spring clean up" going on when we visited. The art is fascinating in many cases and the pieces by J. Seward Johnson which sometimes mimic famous paintings by the impressionists are great fun. It is possible to stroll, linger and study without feeling crowded and it is well worth a visit. What is not worth a visit is the restaurant, Rats. It is attractively designed and decorated in both the cafe, main dining area and the terrace. We were greeted and served well. The menu however is pretentious and very overpriced. I ordered a "croque monsieur" and was served a sandwich of very little ham and cheese on huge thick pieces of brioche bread which had been quickly dumped on the panini grill -- not long enough to melt the cheese. That with a miniscule salad was $13. Other dishes at our table for four suffered from the same problem -- long on description and short on execution. When I protested I was told that the chef had "traveled extensively in Europe" - I'm from Europe and a ham and cheese is a ham and cheese! The G for S does not permit you to bring outside food into the grounds. My recommendation is that you eat a hearty breakfast or lunch and then go and enjoy the art!

2  Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 2, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews