We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
It’s not Glen Rock without the Rock

I driven by the iconic historic Rocks since I was a boy. This is an important historical marker... read more

Reviewed 10 February 2021
MrDavid14
,
Hawthorne, New Jersey
via mobile
He Likes Hugs!

The Glen Rock is hands down the best rock I've ever seen. It's not just a boulder, it's a rock... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2019
itsyagirlem
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
18
9
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
9
9
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Listed as one of the top ten towns to visit in New Jersey, I have a long family history here. It has everything you could want in a small town! The rock, itself, was a tribal meeting place for several Native peoples. It wasn't unusual to find arrow go heads when I was a kid. Go for the fourthof July parade, swim in the municipal pool, have pizza at John Boys and a nightcap at the Glen Rock Inn?

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Jdicarlowagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Having been recognized in Natural Geographic this land mark is THE ROCK in Glen Rock! A small warm, safe and friendly town.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank 325dianew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

We lived in Glen Rock very happily for 24 years and this glacial erratic was omnipresent.

Glen Rock was settled around this large boulder in a small valley (glen), from which it gets its name.

Glen Rock is named for the 570-ton boulder, believed to have been deposited by a glacier, that stands two blocks east of Rock Road, the town's main street, where it intersects Lincoln Avenue.

Called Pamachapura, or Stone from Heaven, by the Delaware (Lenape) Indians, it served as a base for Indian signal fires and later as a trail marker for colonists.

Nowadays, whenever I am in the area with guests, we always stop by and walk around the foundation and read the various memorials that have been placed there.

Anywhere else it would simply melt into the scenery, but here at the intersection of two very busy streets and surrounded by houses and as almost the size of a small house, it is really quite remarkable.

Guests are always impressed.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank robcurtross
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

If you live in the area, then knowledge of this landmarks history is a must but I don't understand why anyone would travel any great distance to see this. It is literally a large unremarkable boulder in the middle of the street. Otherwise, the town itself is great. An affluent small town with great schools and neighborhoods close to NYC and everything else.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank PizzaMavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This big boulder in the middle of ROCK Road is how a the borough of Glen Rock derived its name.
It is a thing to see. Nothing to eat there.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank FrugaltravelerGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews