We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
362
148
54
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
148
54
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ebbitt room red cottage continental breakfast front porch silver tray the cottages congress hall breakfast delivered no elevator my husband and i valet service third floor cape resorts the main hotel yogurt boutique hotel spa shower
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This was a two day getaway stay to celebrate a birthday coming from the Atlantic City area. We paid around $400 a night and while Cape May is expensive during the season , this only gets you a small room with no view , about a block from the beach but right near the center of town.
We found the staff was very polite and friendly especially the bartender. We also enjoyed breakfast served on the porch , use of Congress Hall pool and the beach amenities . However shortly after check in a maid removed a wine glass I had brought with me and although I immediately inquired at the front desk it was not found until two days later , after we returned home. The glass was mailed to us but we were charged an additional $9 postage on our card. Not quite exceeding our expectations from a $400 a night hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank lpweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Staff are wonderful and eager to help. The front porch is wonderful and a great place to have a drink or coffee in the morning. Daily newspapers are an added benefit.

The room itself could use some work. See attached picture of the stained box spring sheet.
There were also a few cracks and chips that could use some attention.
The bed itself (a queen) was not the most comfortable. Pillows were flat.

Bathroom was nice, as was the provided soaps. However there were some cracks and mal-aligned vents.

Overall, its a good place to stay (no children allowed). Could use a fresh coat of paint and some new mattresses.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mikeychocolatecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We stayed at the Virginia Hotel overnight this past week. We both have never stayed here and it was my boyfriend's first time in Cape May. From the moment that we booked, we received an email asking if they can make any reservations from us. We arrived in town earlier than check in and they took our bags and took our car. They were very accommodating! They also gave us a sheet with activities and a book of Cape May which is awesome from someone that has never been.The room was super clean and gorgeous inside. The best part of the trip was the breakfast that got delivered to our room in the morning. It was delicious! The pool and beach was clean and the workers did everything for us. Everyone was so kind and wanted to make sure that we were having a great trip. We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Sam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I am delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend so clearly enjoyed your stay with us. Most of all, thank you for your comments regarding the service of our staff--it is so rewarding to hear that they went above and beyond to ensure that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that you have both fallen in love with Cape May and will be back to stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a 4 night 5 day stay at this fabulous historic, but trendy hotel one block from the beach, shopping , and the Congress Hall pool. Valet parking, never had to use our car. First night we had a dinner served by Sergio who I asked to pick my dinner right downstairs in the Ebbit Room. He was fabulous and so was the steak and crab cake dinner by the chef .They gave us Champagne for our Anniversary. Chantal arranged for us to have the beach tent with a cooler of cold drinks for 2 of our days. Highly recommend ordering one of these tents. Worth every penny. We ordered lunch at the shore which was hand delivered by a lovely Seton Hall Nursing Student who attended to our every need. One day we wanted to swim in a pool and because the Virginia is a Cape Resorts Hotel, you can use Congress Hall’s pool and again order lunch poolside. Our beautifully decorated room had a jacuzzi and a private porch where we had breakfast delivered to us daily. During the evenings we went to concerts in the Rotary Park and saw a Neil Simon play all within walking distance. Convenience, excellent service, and beautiful surroundings made us so happy we chose the Virginia Hotel for this special trip.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had a memorable stay here at the Virginia. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us, not just at the hotel, but in our restaurant, the Ebbitt Room, as well. I am delighted to see that the staff's service and attention to detail, from the restaurant, to breakfast service, to complimentary valet and elsewhere was attentive and made you feel welcome and at home.

I sincerely hope you will be back to stay with us again soon, and see more of what Cape May has to offer!

Very Best,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2018

First time staying here. Perfect location; Minutes from the beach, the Washington st. shops,and other local shops and restaurants. We stayed three nights and never used our car. Our third floor room was quiet and comfortable with plenty of space for two of us. There isn't an elevator, so if steps are an issue maybe try to request a lower floor. There were several different food choices for the continental breakfast, which is brought to you on a tray either on the porch, in the lobby, or your room. We also had pre dinner drinks in the porch a few evenings. The staff was helpful, friendly, and did everything to make our stay relaxing. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lovelondon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews