We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveler rating
836
393
90
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
393
90
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mad batter restaurant mad hatter breakfast or lunch great happy hour living social trolley tour jackson street attached restaurant half block my husband and i get away hotel guests crab cakes the room was nice bed and breakfast off season mid week
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I’m a huge fan of the Carroll Villa! I’ve returned 4 times, and the hotel always gives me a welcome back balloon with organic soap and excellent treatment every time. We were able to check in early upon our arrival last Wednesday. It’s charming with beautiful updated rooms in the main building (we stayed in 2 this time bc we stayed an extra night impromptu!) We had 2 excellent nights of sleep on their amazing mattresses! They are enlarging the bathrooms and we were lucky to stay in a room with a much bigger shower than they had before. The staff is friendly and professional, and the $30 breakfast voucher that came with our stay to eat their award-winning breakfast was wonderful. The location is outstanding. On Jackson which is a block from the beach and 2 blocks from town, we never had to drive anywhere during our stay. We will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Anne,
Thank you for the great eview of our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed another stay with us at the Carroll Villa and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Carroll Villa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel is historically fabulous. The customer service is wonderful. The food was awesome and tasteful. The room was on the 3rd floor and very spacious. There is not an elevator so the steps were great exercise for us .

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank kathyaubry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dera Kathyaubry,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Carroll Villa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We have been visiting Cape May for the past 40 years and have stayed at many B & B's and hotels and seen many of them become private homes again. Jackson St. is our preferred location. So last week it was really hot and we decided to try to get a one night stay, last minute. There were a couple of options (less expensive) but we chose to try Carroll Villa once again. We stayed there many times over the years but it needed an update so we opted for a B & B with a front porch in the area. We were pleasantly surprised and thrilled with our choice. The changes and beautiful updating of the hotel and rooms is amazing. It's the small things that were also appreciated. Like having chairs, towels and an umbrella at the beach. An outdoor shower to get the sand off your feet, and the parking permit for a later time then check-out. A quick golf cart ride to the parking lot was a nice touch too. We also were handed a treat (great shortbread) as we checked out for the ride home. Combine all of this with a Mad Batter voucher for a delicious breakfast and a discount on dinner and you can't go wrong. We will be staying there again for sure! Thanks Pam for the King Room too, very comfy!

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Experience802729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Mrs.Pinto,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are so glad you chose to return to the Carroll VIlla again, as we love seeing our return guest each visit and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Carroll Villa Staf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Didn’t eat breakfast or use
The pool here but the rooms were great, beds had soft sheets, and there were
Great views of the ocean. Not to mention that there’s parking and there are many restaurants and other places within walking distance.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Julian,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Carroll VIlla Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The Carroll Villa is an adorable quaint hotel located 1/2 block from the beach. Each room has a different decor. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We were given beach chairs and an umbrella for our whole stay as well as parking just a short walk away from the hotel. If you book directly you even get $30 towards breakfast and 30% off dinner at their restaurant, "The Mad Batter" which is a very popular place to eat in Cape May. The food is delicious! The only problem is that the hotel does not have an elevator so it will be difficult if you cannot climb the stairs to your room. I also feel that it best serves couples as the rooms are not very large. There is a refrigerator in the room which is very convenient and wine glasses on the dresser.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saporita722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Saporita772,
Thank you for the great review of our hote! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

SIncerely,
The Carroll Villa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews