We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the food but disappointing recent catering experience”

Mulberry Street Italian Food Center
Ranked #38 of 183 Restaurants in Brick
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: “Our Cooking Immortalizes Grandma’s Kitchen of Years Gone By.” Mulberry Street Italian Food Center is proudly owned & operated by the Colasurdo family. It has a long history beginning in March 1973 when Michael Colasurdo, Sr. opened A & M Meat Market in Jersey City, New Jersey. Then in October 1974, A & M Meat Market moved to Brick, New Jersey where its evolution took footing. While much has changed over time, our commitment to our customers has not. We are not just a Deli - We have a Butcher Dept., Prepared Specialty Foods, Imported Oils & Vinegars, and offer full-service Catering for All Occasions!!
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Would like to rate a 5 Star for good food and service but was disappointed in two items. I ordered 1/2 tray Sausage peppers and onions . Very skimpy on the sausage. At least half the tray was peppers and onions. 1/2 tray of meatballs had more meat than the sausage tray and was less $$. Calandra Semolina Rolls looked like little footballs and were so tough it was like chewing on a football. Loaves of Calandra's Bastone were also very tough. I get that the texture is supposed to be a little chewey but theirs was way too tough. I even asked in advance about the texture of the rolls and was assured it wasn't a problem. Will rethink the menu next time and order other bread.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinawH9535CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Like this market. They pretty have everything you need for food.
Meat area is good and so is the deli section.
Fruits & veggies too.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank barb732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Loved it! Living in N Jersey for many years it can be hard to find a good and authentic Italian Deli when in S Jersey. Mulberry hit the spot! Large store with many imports and makes a beautiful Italian sub. Fresh mutz!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank spaerels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

You can't go wrong in Mulberry Street everything is fresh and delicious I have a little taste of Italy. But be prepared to pay the price they were on the high side

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank DeaconVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Originally from the Bronx New York, I have often shopped on Arthur Ave. as well as Little Italy in Manhattan. The name does not disappoint. the incredible variety of both packaged as well as prepared foods items as well as the various aroma's cascade through the store and grab both your attention as well as your appetite. I strongly suggest not going on an empty stomach, or you will leave with an empty wallet. The prices are reasonable for what you can purchase, its just that you want to purchase everything. Definitely go when you have a lot of time on your hands, as there is so much to see and taste. It's like Sunday Afternoon with the whole family.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank maine8396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Street Italian Food Center also viewed

 

Been to Mulberry Street Italian Food Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing