We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency”

Charlies of Bay Head
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Bay Head
Description: Casual elegant restaurant with contemporary American Cuisine. Full service bar, extensive wine list and 20 craft beers on tap.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual elegant restaurant with contemporary American Cuisine. Full service bar, extensive wine list and 20 craft beers on tap.
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Return visit dining in the great room upstairs while winds from Dorian were ripping around. Great setting and perhaps the best wine and beer selection on the shore. Service remains high caliber and menu selection is decent but not truly adventurous. Started with salads that were ok. Wife had the halibut special which was extraordinary. Mom and I each had the flounder francaise which is also wonderful. Come here for a consistently rewarding experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 132davidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2019

Just came on a busy Saturday night without reservations and although the wait was 1.5 hrs we scored two seats at the bar within minutes of our 8:15 pm arrival! The place has great atmosphere, lively, great friendly bar staff, attentive, excellent choices for apps and dinner. We took dessert to go, donuts with dipping sauces, We were not disappointed at all! Next time and there will be a next time, we will make reservations well in advance so that we can sit outside and enjoy more of what Charlies has to offer.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank patty0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

While we watched the brilliant Thursday evening fireworks taking place across the water in Point Pleasant, we were treated to a very fine dinner by the window at Charlie’s. We had never dined at Charlie’s before, though the advanced reviews were certainly alluring. And, true to reputation, this was an excellent meal! For my entree, I had the seafood special, a scrumptious combo of shrimp, clams and mussels in a flavorful, well seasoned broth. Perfect! And my wife praised (and I tasted) her grilled and charcoal flavored tuna, tender with a lingering taste that brought to mind the best Chicago steakhouses! Unique and distinctly memorable e.
Before dinner martinis were served in the spacious lounge area- expertly crafted and divinely consumed. We sat in big, comfy leather chairs by the fireplace and visualized how charming it would be to venture here during the chill of winter! I hear the restaurant is charmingly decorated for the Christmas holidays. We must return!
All in all, Charlie’s is a highly recommended place to try when you’re vacationing in this area! 5 stars!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank DelightAndDevour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019

Definitely make a reservation or prepare to sit at the bar or at a high top table if you can find one! We didn't and opted to sit at a high top but would have loved to sit outside and enjoy the view. This is an airy, open, water view restaurant that, based on the crowd, is clearly a hot spot.

The cocktail menu is fun and we ordered a cool cucumber and sangria beverage - both were perfect on a summer night.

For dinner we enjoyed the flounder and salmon. Our server offered to adjust the entrees to include items we liked from another entree. Overall it was excellent service and a fantastic meal.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Texhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

The place is beautiful and the staff was nice however the prices are high and the menu ehh. The biggest problem I had was that the power went out between our appetizers and entrees being served. Now this is obviously not their fault however, we sat in the dark with the AC off... no complimentary drink nothing off the bill. Worst part when we eventually wandered back up front to leave the power was on by the bar! No one ever offered for us to move up front where the AC was on and the lights. Instead of taking new diners in they should have moved the people in the powerless back room up front. I felt so upset when I saw that. I had a reservation for next week so I cancelled.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank WowHSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlies of Bay Head also viewed

Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Brielle, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Charlies of Bay Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.