We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Squam Lake Inn(Holderness)
US$229
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Golden Pond(Holderness)
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
US$95
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/01
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/01
US$80
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
88
29
2
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
29
2
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublakes regionsquam lakelook forwardsmall bathroomscreened porchbike weekevery summerwould stay againan updatestayed one nightscience centerminute drivelabor day weekendbeautiful propertya great place to staylake view
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We have stayed here several times in the past 35 years. Sometimes in the motel rooms, other times in the cottages. The area is nice and quiet, the pond is wonderful to swim in and relax by. There are lots of sights to see in the area.

Room Tip: You will end up saving money by getting a cottage with a kitchenette.
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

I am sorry it has taken me so long to Thank You for writing your review. We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This is the place to be to visit anywhere in the state. It's close to the regions larger lakes and a short drive to New Hampshire's white mountains. The cabins (with many types to choose from) are rustic but well kept and clean. There is a nice in ground swimming pool and a sandy beach for swimming. Several types of boats are available for the 300 acre secluded & quiet pond. The fishing is good and loons can often be heard calling each other. We've been coming here for a number of years. The owners have been here for many years and can answer your questions and make recommendations.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed your stay and were happy your son joined you. It was nice to see you take you evening row out on the lake. We look forward to your stay in 2016.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2015

While lying on the beach this year it dawned on me that I have been coming to White Oak since 1966. 49 years is a long time by any measure.

It has and continues to be such a large part of my life and that of my family's to consider an alternate vacation spot is somewhat unfathomable (to be fair, we did miss a few years in the 80's and early 90's).

Its pretty rare to find a vacation place that has changed so little over the years, yet has done a good job of keeping up with modern amenities.

The real secret to White Oaks appeal however is what it doesn't have: noise, crowds or large motorboats; something that the larger neighboring lakes (Big Squam, Winnepesaukee) cant offer. Most importantly its the one time we can put away the cell phones and focus on playing board games and talking to one another without distraction.

We're now in our 4th generation of family attendees and as long as Carol and John will have us back as guests we'll keep returning.

Room Tip: Pick cabins with lake view if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meherter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Thank you for your review. It has been great watching your children grow and enjoy the simple pleasures of White Oak. Thank you for sending your friends. We will see you in 2016.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Cottage 3 is our spot! Love the cleanliness, friendliness and location! Enjoyed sitting by the beautiful lake. Swimming in the pool outside our cottage. Thanks to Carol and the crew for a wonderful, wonderful stay. See you soon...

Room Tip: Cottage 3 has CLEAN kitchenette with all needed amenities...
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadiamonds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Thank you for writing a review. We were so happy that you spent your anniversary with us. So great to see you both and to catch up.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2015

This was our 3rd year at the White Oak. The cottages are all clean and well taken care of. It's like living in a quaint little hotel for a week.

The people there are friendly; especially Carol; one of the owners. Helpful, helpful would be a great word for Carol. From the moment we checked in until we left; Carol was there.

The White Oak pond is close by and we went fishing everyday for the first few days (then we had to work).

If you're in the Laconia / Meredith area; call White Oak; you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redharleymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We also love the area.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews