We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
48
2
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
2
2
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

The Sandigan Dive Resort is one of our favorite places to stay and to dive! We are beyond impressed by the beautiful view from the dining balcony, the charm of the facility, including family friendly extras, the helpful staff, the diving opportunities and of course Erwin the owner, head dive master and genuinely nice person. We experienced several dives with dive master Ryna and consider the dives comparable to Central America’s Cancun and Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. We received professional care with transportation to and from the dive site and in getting in and out of the water. I witnessed the guidance of our dive master and the boat staff. Thank you Sandigan Dive Resort!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank beverly561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahalodivers, Owner at Sandingan Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hi Beverly, it's been such a pleasure for us to welcome you and your family again and again to our little resort. Cabilao Island is one of the most beautiful reefs here in the Philippines and we love that we can share it with wonderful guests like you. Hope to see you again soon. Best, SDR Team! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights , the room was clean and good decorated but there is no fridge and internet never worked, we asked couple of times to restart the modem but they did not even restarted. The kitchen stuff is nice and trying to do everything but i can not say the same for managers and owner, first of all they are all money oriented, the first time you arrive without giving the key and let you change or refresh they ask you the payment and they welcome you with credit card machine, eventough the price is fixed by booking or wherever you made your reservation for everything you want to spend money they charge you %5 more. The name of the resort is Sandigan İslang DİVE CENTER so i guess most of people is going there to make a dive so that was the reason also we were there, they told us everyone is tired and there is no minimum of 4 people so they can not do diving!!! so they offered a night diving in the backyard of the resort... The other scandal is day trips, they told us we can go to day trip , we can see 9 places and the cost is 3500 which is around 70 Usd , we accepted it but ended up only seeing 3 places and we have been token out the resort back, the other caos is taxi, while going to hotel from airport we paid 1000 Pesos which is around 20 Usd for a distance of 75 km , for going back to boat in Cebu which is around 30 km , they charged us 2000 which is half of the distance but 2 times more money. When you are on vacation of course you are there to spend money but to fell like stupid about being overcharged is making people sad. We definitely do not recommend this place because of the overall mentality and how they see the client like a money tree, if you go please be carefull about the extra money they are trying to make on you

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gnd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahalodivers, Owner at Sandingan Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020


Thank you for your review. We are quite surprised that you had such a different experience than most of our guests. When working with third party companies like the driver service we are not in control over the prices they charge, it's at the discretion of our guests to use the service or not. Weather conditions which can be unpredictable and dangerous here in the Philippines made it impossible to use our speedboat during your stay, like always the safety of our guests is most important. I do hope you got the enjoy the beauty of Bohol and would love to welcome you back again in the future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Staff were very helpful in arranging a motorbike rental (Honda XRM), taxi connections, and customized dives. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Most of the grounds were well kept, although the waterfront area could use improvement (a boardwalk, more frequent removal of fishing boat litter and debris, etc). The atmosphere of the resort is casual, and compared to Panglao, well off the beaten path and away from the crowds, which is a good thing. The resort will appeal to more casual divers, as Nitrox wasn't offered at the time of my visit. For those new to diving, I think this would be a terrific place to learn. The reefs around Cabliao were uncrowded and in very good condition (nice soft corals, big sea fans, no bleaching) and on the Lighthouse dive, I spotted several big sea turtles at least 2 meters in length. Food and drink were on point, although I would recommend that the kitchen open 1 hour earlier for the jetlagged early birds. This is a good base for those who want to motorbike and dive, as Sandingan Island, unlike others in the area, is connected to the mainland via a sealed causeway that passes through a massive mangrove. Several waterfalls are within a 1-2 hour motorbike ride of the resort, which overall is great for those who want solitude and quiet, and are turned off by the loud and overpriced mega-resorts around Panglao. People on the island are friendly, and often said hello to me as I was passing by on the motorbike.

FYI: There is no beach here, so if you're in search of white, sandy beaches you may want to look elsewhere in The Visayas. Alona Beach, the most famous in Bohol, is located about 50 km south of Sandingan, and wasn't very nice in my opinion (lots of annoying touts and erosion). Good street massage and foot scrubs on Alona Beach at night though. Also a jumping off point for boat trips to Balicasag, which has some of the best diving in Southeast Asia.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aksynth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

I had spent a week in the bustle of Alona Beach on Panglao Island and was looking for respite before journeying on. My regret was I had only allowed one night. Shout out to Shariin the manager and the staff who made a solo traveler feel at home. Is is isolated but if that’s what you are looking for or are into diving, I could not recommend highly enough. Magic views from restaurant area. Beautiful rooms, tastefully decorated. Pool available. I’m not in Cebu. Wish I was back at Sandingan.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank AB00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahalodivers, Owner at Sandingan Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi Adrian, thank you so much for your kind review. Hope to see you again here soon for some diving. Best, Erwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Great location whether it be for diving or just taking a family holiday this resort has fabulous staff nothing is too much trouble, the resturant serves food that is up there with the best I have had simple but full of flavour and cooked to perfection.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank sxyrxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandingandivers, Guest Relations Manager at Sandingan Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful experience with us and do look forward to welcoming you once again in your future travel. Best regards, Shariin ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews