We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn University(Missoula)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel-Missoula, MT(Missoula)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/04
US$132
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast(Missoula)
US$189
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C'mon Inn(Missoula)
US$150
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
187
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate suitefemale dormco ed dormgreat locationmixed dormolder hometriple roomsaturday farmers marketcoded doorshared spaceolder housecommon spaceclose to downtownnice kitchencheck in processaffordable place to stayoutdoor patio
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Just a short walk to downtown, but still out of the way enough where it's quiet and peaceful. Stayed in the private suite and it was perfect for our needs for one night. It was nice having our own kitchen and bathroom. We met the owner Chris and he's super friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Where do I start? Shady Spruce was my first liaison to Missoula. I had just gotten in, and wasn't sure what to expect, except for the frigid cold. I get dropped off in front of this cozy, cute little house, and that's the hostel! Chris checked me in, set me up, and showed me around and gave me the lo-down of the town, all with such authenticity and hospitality! More so than any of the amenities (and there were some, including complementary bikes and soon to be tours), I liked the interaction I had with the people there, as well as the vision of what the place is trying to do. The whole thing is grassroots and community driven, and you'll see small knickknacks all around the place, each one coming from someone else in the community. To me, a hostel ideally is a culmination of the people in the community, and through Shady Spruce, that's exactly what I got. Give this place a try, you'll love it!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Really clean, cozy, in the best location possible, with tips and guidebooks galore inside. Space in fridge for your food. Comfortable. Reliable wifi. Cool people that inhabit the space.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter layer up. Also if you plan on being around Missoula you absolutely do not need a rental car.
Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank meganscanlon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This hostel is clean, quiet, convenient, and overall a very welcoming lodging.. Chris is accommodating and is readily available with recommendations or simply to make the stay more comfortable. Thanks!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 208alpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Great hostel in downtown Missoula- cute, clean, convenient. And the bed mattress was super comfy! The owner, Chris, was very easily accessible via email and phone. I definitely recommend. (That about sums it up but tripadvisor want me to write more...)

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank 2018adr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews