We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night”

Carriages Country Pub
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Tattenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Carriages Country Pub offering home cooked locally sourced food. Family and dog friendly. Open Tuesday - Thursday 12-3 & 6-10 Friday & Saturday 12-10.30 Sunday 12-5.30.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ive been to Carriages many times previously, but this was the first time id taken my girlfriend so was hoping everything would be up to it's usual standard. Thankfully, they didn't let me down. The food was excellent, as expected, and both Stacey and Paul were warm and friendly.

Would heartily recommend.

Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTattenhall, Owner at Carriages Country Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Amy for taking the time to write your lovely five star review. We are very fortunate to have fabulous staff who help to make Carriages the Pub & Restaurant that our guests come back to time and time again. You are always very welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went out for lunch at Carriages, and were extremely delighted with the food service and ambience /friendliness . There is a good selection of culinary delights and hot on arrival which is a big plus , nothing was a problem . As far as refreshments are concerned the bitter is refreshingly clear and tasty , and so to is the coffee which has a large variety of hot steamy beverages. So what s not to like , for a local hostelry that deserves all the credit due for the effort hat is affords its customers

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTattenhall, Owner at Carriages Country Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Keith for taking the time to write your lovely five star review. We are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us and appreciate all that we have to offer. We work hard at making our guests stay a pleasurable one, and our fantastic staff are great asset in ensuring that all of our guests are welcomed and accommodated to the best of our ability. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sunny Sunday afternoon lunch date, roast lamb and all the trimmings, very fresh and home cooked to perfection, roast lamb so tender and flavoursome, excellent portion control and filling, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and love the 2 pub doggies!!

Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTattenhall, Owner at Carriages Country Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Mark for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food offerings, our fabulous friendly staff and the two resident dogs. We are a family and dog friendly pub, but also offer a separate restaurant area for those that prefer not to be looked at longingly and hopefully by Millie & Summer (the dogs!). Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to go away with friends on the campsite and booked a meal for Saturday night.
Whilst having a drink in the bar on Thursday evening we got talking to the chef about meal choices for Saturday night.
He suggested if we were agreeable he would purchase a whole fillet of beef to be cooked to our individual liking, which we were all looking forward to. However on Saturday night when we arrived the meal didn't go to plan as promised, having ordered our individual preference of cooking and choices of accompaniments, the meals started to arrive and not one was correct. For a start all the plates were cold and the steaks were cooked the same, the reason for this we found out later was that the chef had braised the fillet, and they also found it difficult to match the selected chips, jacket potatoes veg, and salads to individual orders, even missing carrots off all altogether.
I ordered a rare fillet steak, when I complained it was not cooked rare I was told it was 'braised rare by the chef, when I said that's not how I wanted it he snatched the plate away and threw it on a side table with curt instructions to the waitress to take it back. A very petulant attitude indeed and at no time was an apology offered or suggestion made for a replacement meal, and to add insult to injury we were charged for it but it was taken off after complaining. We all expected our steaks to be grilled to our liking and the meals to arrive correctly plated at the same time and the plates to be warm.
This situation could have been improved had the attitude of the chef been less petulant.
Very disappointing.

1  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTattenhall, Owner at Carriages Country Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry that your visit was disappointing and that you felt that the food was not up to our very own expected high standards. The chef is normally quite clear in how he plans to cook food when making up a special selection, and we apologise that your expectations and the results did not appear to match. There were six in your party, but only one of you complained, and having since checked with the staff, you did not want a replacement. Our seasonal vegetable selection changes regularly, and unfortunately, if we don't have carrots on the menu at the time, it is difficult to just magic them up. It's hard to believe that your plates were all cold, as they are kept in a warming cupboard and then under hot lamps whilst food is being served. We accept that you were not happy, but we realise that you can't please everyone and take this one on the chin.

The chef has been spoken to about his petulant attitude, and he was made to sit on the naughty step for 20 minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Booked Saturday lunch with my mum and daughters before we visited the Spa nearby. Although it was quiet, think everyone must have been saving themselves for the following day! Very friendly staff and we have a most enjoyable lunch. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced- however the small portions were almost as big as the main courses! We were all full when the chef/owner came to see if we were ok and proceeded to provide us with a complimentary tasting platter of desserts - which we managed to find room for and were delicious. Dog friendly area so we will be returning with our dog. All
In all a gem of a place

Thank JML05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTattenhall, Owner at Carriages Country Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for your lovely five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, and managed to squeeze in the dessert tasters.
You are quite right, Mother's Day is a very popular day and we are fully booked. Our lounge bar is our dog friendly area, and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriages Country Pub also viewed

 
Tattenhall, Cheshire
 

Been to Carriages Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing