We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catered Event, Staff of 30 - Bring it Ms. Hazel!!”
Review of Hazel's Back Porch

Hazel's Back Porch
Get food delivered
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Washington
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 March 2021

Hazel's Back Porch BBQ catered our Employee Appreciation event in New Haven. Our employees could not have been happier. Smoke filled the outside air from her onboard smoker and we enjoyed Smoked Chicken and Smoked Pulled Pork with all the goodies. Down home comfort with the best pleasantry form Hazel herself and her team.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 433Byron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2020

I am a big fan of Texas BBQ. So happy to have Hazel's here in Washington. Everything is always the best. Great menu from the meats to the sides to the desserts. You just can't go wrong. Jane Young

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janejenny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2020

Great BBQ!

We learned about Hazel’s from Robller Winery… we asked Jerry on the drive in where he recommended we get food and thanks to him we were soon at Hazel’s.

The building is nice and well decorated and the staff team is welcoming and friendly.

They have a full menu of beef, chicken and pork, including ribs.

We only planned for small lunch so we ordered
- mixed greens salad with feta and berries and nuts on top, with vinaigrette
- a half pound of brisket

We then drove to the winery and had a fine fine lunch, thanks to Hazel’s + the wine + the view.

Our only mistake was only ordering a half pound of the brisket; it was so good that we ate it so quickly that we just wanted a little more.

Hazel’s has wonder full sauce, too, and the Texas toast was a great way to get the last drops out of the sauce container.

Thank you, Hazel & team.

We’ll see you again soon!

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

We were in Washington needing to kill a little time and wanted to grab a quick lunch. Not wanting fast food we found this spot on TripAdvisor. Menu was simple and inexpensive. We enjoyed our lunch. I had a potato loaded with all the fixings and brisket. It was very tasty. My friend had a pulled pork sandwich and he rated it highly as well. Would not hesitate to visit again.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank tdbrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Was in Washington for an event and saw hazels back porch barbecue. Decided to stop in and was glad I did. You know your in a good bbq joint when you smell the aroma of smoke, beef and pork before you see it.
And it helps that it’s a locally owned business with an owner who is proud of her place.
Nothing fancy about this place- just solidly well smoked meat at a great price.
Ordered the brisket and 1/2 slab of ribs.
Portions are generous and amazing in price. I know my smoked meats and they know how to do it here.
The owner and staff are welcoming and explained everything.
Absolutely worth many repeat visits, including the drive from St Louis

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank 331rezab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel's Back Porch also viewed

 

Been to Hazel's Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.