We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
112
29
8
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
29
8
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelseafoodsri lankaresident managerprevious guestslaid eggsgreat boutiqueplunge poolprivate beachlast stoprestaurant food isincredible staybed was very comfortablelittle touchesfeel at homespecial thanksprawns
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Travelling to the dream location Sri Lanka is alone a unique experience and the folks so warm and friendly, having explored the Island we stayed at Casa Colombo Mirissa, which was truly a wonderful place, great service, good food, friendly staff and of course the amazing location, the Hotel Manager and his team made our stay incredible and for that we are grateful. The Hotel has 6 rooms exactly what we needed to relax the rooms are very well appointed, direct on the Indian ocean, the rooms are very clean and attention to details are amazing even with Nespresso machine and many other amenities. The small boutique Hotel offered whale watching amongst many activities seeing whales in their natural environment stay with us forever. Thank you so much !!!

Room Tip: Master Pool suite acces direct to the beach with private plunge pool
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank master902018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAColCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Colombo Collection, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest!

We are delighted to read your review!

It is a new management at the hotel since April and we are continuously striving to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us. The hotel manager and the staff would go all out to make sure our guests feel at home.

We are glad to read that you loved the food; our new menu offers a range of delicious dishes to suit you palette at a very competitive prices. Our guests love the location of the hotel, hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city in a pristine beach, yet a very central location to most attractions in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We came to Casa Mirissa for our honeymoon. We arrived about 10:30 pm and were given no information about meal times, wifi or in-house mobile phone, which went out of battery after a inconclusive short call which got cut, to our contact.

The bed sheets were stainy, so were the floor blankets, the bathroom were crowded by marching ants, and the place in general was really bad cleaned. We told the staff and they replaced the bed sheets and cleaned the room all over again, but the new sheets were more stainy and the pillows covered in short dark curly hairstraws.

This was absolutely not a good experience.

We ended up switching hotels after one night.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAColCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Colombo Collection, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Martin,

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the unpleasant experience at CCC-Mirissa. Now its a completely new management at the property and we have completely revamped service standards and upgraded the property to ensure our guests have a memorable experience at CCC - Mirissa.
We hope you would give us another chance and stay with us, and experience for yourself all the positive changes we've done; and this time we assure you that it will be one of the best beach stays you've ever had!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This hotel has everything going for it but is let down by poor management. We stayed here for two nights and were located in the downstairs room with its own private pool. The room was lovely - the modern bathroom was huge in a walled courtyard at the back of the room - part of the roof open to the outside so no air conditioning which may not suit all.
On arrival we decided to have lunch and requested a beer to start. We sat for ages waiting for the beer and the waiter kept saying it's coming. It finally arrived and we were told that they had actually run out of beer and someone had gone to the local wine shop to buy it! Further discussion established that there was no alcohol available at all (they had run out) but if we wanted to go to the local wine shop we could bring our own. The Manager confirmed that there would be Sri Lankan curry on the menu that night so off we went to the wine shop. When we were ready for dinner we were told by the night manager that there was no curry only boring European food. We weren't impressed and ended up taking a tuk tuk into Mirissa for a curry.
The second morning at breakfast we waited an hour for our food. All guests had arrived at the same time and the one waiter couldn't cope - problem is he had no system - not well trained and needed help.
This hotel has so much potential. The location is great - right on the beach. A really nice good size swimming pool. When you first arrive and walk in you think 'wow' this looks amazing so a real shame that they haven't got the running of it fine tuned. I would most probably recommend to stay but not eat there.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayednz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAColCollection, Director of Sales at Casa Colombo Collection, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Kayed,

Thank you for the constructive feedback. We do accept that there have been occasional lapses in the service standards over the last couple of months, and would would like to express our sincere apologies regarding the matter.

This been said, we are happy to announce that now its a new management at the property and we have implemented all necessary measures to ensure the service and hotel standards are met at all times. The staff are receiving continuous training and we've even revamped our menu to include simple yet delicious dishes made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients to delight your taste buds

We would love to have you back, and you could see for yourself that now the property is at its full potential with excellent service standards,.
We look forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Perfect welcome on arrival. Staff were kind, willing to help with anything you need. Very knowledgeable of their country and local area, and friendly. Professional in manner and approach. Nothing were too much trouble for the staff.
We were only B&B for 5nights and breakfasts were reasonable with scrambled eggs cooked to perfection
Modernish boutique hotel,Room extremely spacious with large balcony. Quiet and relaxing. Road was busy but when in hotel and beach area we were not aware of it or any noise of traffic. Beach was peaceful and lovely to walk along at any time.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views of beach /sea
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorcas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAColCollection, Director of Sales at Casa Colombo Collection, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Dorcas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review and we are thrilled to read it!

We are glad that you loved the stay with us, and now we have further improved our menu, including a range of delicious dishes from locally sourced fresh seafood. Its also new management at the hotel since April and we strive to ensure that our guests have a fabulous stay with us.

We look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Colombo at the end of our honeymoon trip around Sri Lanka. We decided to stay there as it appeared to be a luxury hotel we could unwind at for our last few days. We were very wrong! I don’t recommend staying here and especially for the price you pay!

- The rooms are not clean! The bathroom was filthy
- We did not receive a fresh towel in four days
- The shower in the bathroom did not drain and would flood everyday
- Our room was filled with bugs (including mosquitos) and I was bitten several times while sleeping by them
- The room had a bug zapper and when I took it out of the cupboard tones of dead bugs fell out of it
- The pool isn’t clean and also filled with bugs
- We packed a bag for laundry and before we could even see the price list, it was taking from our room. We then received a bill of $170 Australian dollars for our washing. We had the same washing done in another hotel in Sri Lanka for $30 Australian dollars
- The Hotel is advertised as Mirissa but it isn’t Mirissa and is at least a ten minute tuk tuk ride into Mirissa

I wish I had something nice to say about this hotel but I can’t. Massively disappointed and a bad end to our honeymoon!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank merindarogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAColCollection, Director of Sales at Casa Colombo Collection, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the negative experiences you've had. However on a positive note, we are glad to announce that it is a new management at the property since April this year, and we have taken all necessary measures to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us.
We request you to give us another chance, and see for yourself the changes we've made and we assure you that you will be pleasantly surprised!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews