We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, beautiful room and beautiful staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful room and beautiful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in La Costa, a unit that is less expensive then the others. It was great short stairs to our room and the best view. Ricardo was great and the Manager Barbara was a doll. Next time try Villa Serena , short steps and a cooling off pool. Another great view. I have read the neg reviews and I will say the road in front of the hotel is not that used. The short walk into town is beautiful and romantic, I loved that walk. The restaurant down stairs is independent and good but there are so many good eats in town.There are no hawkers except once a guy came by with oysters on the half and Grilled Mahi on a stick. I loved that too. They are in the process of building a pool on the property, will be finished soon. Sayulita the town is charming with 90 degree ocean and rock and roll music at night like going back to a surf town in the 70's. No highrises, no buses, no taxies and no time share selling , There is no better place to stay in Sayulita. I'll be back.

Room Tip: La Costa inexpensive but unique, Serena, Serena, Serena!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
HI,,,,thank you for taking time to write this very individualized and unique review. I agree,,,la serena is off by itself,,,its own private staircase off the street,,,with a fabulous wide open ocean view and a lovely glass tiled dipping pool...BUT my vote still goes to Costa! Why...cause it is so so close to the office, the restaurant, the life of Sayulita and Villa amor are all right under your railing.....to me Costa is like Juliet looking for Romeo....right under her room. Yes,,,maybe less privacy...no pool...a drop more pedestrian noise ?....but I love the funky decor. Actuañlly all our villas are unique and quite beautiful...and only two do not have ocean views....so choose according to how much walking you like to do when you come home from the beach or at night. If stairs are a bother to you tell us,,,we will place you lower. Check out the video on website which gives a birdseye vie as if you were walking up up and up from the beach to the Grand Villa....it will help you to know about the walk to the villa you choose. But come here and enjoy!!!!! Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    65
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
140
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed in the Peninsula room and it was lovely.
Pros:
- Amazing view - you have wrap around windowed doors that open completely
- Fantastic deck
- AC works great
- Hair dryer, safe and fridge
- Plenty of hot water
- Wonderful soap
- Mattress was firm and comfortable
- Nice sheets and pillows

Cons:
- Water pressure is not great
- There's a giant jacuzzi tub in the room, which is great, except the shower is not separate and standing in the tub to shower is awkward because of the low water pressure and because there's not solid place to stand
- you may need to request more hangers

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
HI and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us...the issue with the shower in the tub was already scheduled for correction....your email confirms its need! The tub itself has been removed qand donated to a local community center as a childrens toy. Our man is building a stone tub,,,with a flat area for comfortably standing. It will be a nice deep soaking tub...finished in less than one week. We hope you come back to enjoy it!!!!!! Warmest, Barbarqa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This might probably be the best place to stay in sayulita. From the covered terrace you can overview the whole town and the ahead laid beach. The two separated rooms had both AC, which make your night sleep way more comfortable. Staff is very friendly attentive. You should definitely have breakfast in front of the reception. This might be the most comfortable place you can find. You will sit under trees hear the waves breaking just one meter next to you. Lovely.
Prices for the accommodation are rather high, but you will be compensated with the splendid view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Villa Amor. I am happy you liked our views,,,our rooms,,,our restaurant which is privately owned and operated. The room rates include taxes and often built in gratuity for some of our employees. Labor is often less costly in Mexico...but everything else is more costly for us...incluudint maintaini ng the electronics we all enjoy and need now...air conditioning and wifi. We would like if our room rates cvould be a little lower....but it is simply not possible. I am sure you will understand...and thank you again for enjoying us. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panguipulli, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

When we first discovered this magical corner of Mexico, we knew we had found our perfect vacation place.
With great surf, long, uncrowded beach walks on soft white sand, you can not beat it.

Love, love, love Villa Sonrisa too!

Room Tip: This is a private villa, you get all the rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannononthego422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Villa Amor. I am happy you liked our views,,,our rooms,,,our restaurant which is privately owned and operated. The room rates include taxes and often built in gratuity for some of our employees. Labor is often less costly in Mexico...but everything else is more costly for us...incluudint maintaini ng the electronics we all enjoy and need now...air conditioning and wifi. We would like if our room rates cvould be a little lower....but it is simply not possible. I am sure you will understand...and thank you again for enjoying us. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent a week in Sayulita last summer. It is a cute, authentic, Mexican surfing/fishing village. We took our teenage son and a friend and felt very comfortable with them spending the day at the beach. Villa Amor is a fun and funky hotel. Our villa was a two bedroom. Though the main living space was open air style the bedrooms are enclosed and have air! We loved the open air concept. Feeling the ocean mist and listening to the waves. Waking up and cooking breakfast was fabulous! The beach has many vendors with fresh cut fruit and fish on long kabob style sticks during the day and we enjoyed walking into town to pick up local groceries for breakfast and snacks in the morning. The town (or the hotel) has restaurants with friendly servers and cold margaritas! The kitchen was fully equipped and a lifesaver traveling with teens! The views were fanatic! The hotel does have a lot of stairs unless you are on the ground level ...

We have also stayed in Costa Rica at an eco lodge called Lapa Rios and really enjoy the open air concept (though Lapa Rios does not have individual kitchens). We would love to hear any suggestions for other fun open air style accommodations in Central or South America.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMG831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
First,,,thank tou for taking time to write a review for us,,,and for understanding what we are about. When the fit is good it works...and it is important guests speak with our reservations people to select the accomodation most suitable for them. If stairs are a problem there is no problem,,,we have at least 10 villas easy enuf for all but a wheel chair person...and only 2 su9itqable for wheel chair access. It is not important to climb high for great views either...every room has them here!!!!

Unfortunately i do not know other resorts that match what you are seeking...perhaps something in Belize or again in Costa Rica. You mi9ght also look into the town of Yelapa...a few hours south of us. It is very rugged,,,with one upscale hotel...and several good restaurants...check it out. Keep enjoying!!! BARBARA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.1 km away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#5 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#6 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
10.3 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
13.1 km away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Property: Villa Amor
Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Price range (per night): ₱3,915 - ₱30,114
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Amor is an eclectic collection of 26 oceanfront villas the tropical surf town of Sayulita, Mexico. Each villa has stunning views of the Sayulita Bay coastline, the Sierra Madre jungle, and the fishing village down the road. All of our villas feature unique, open-air designs with incomparable views from the terraces and lounges for sunbathing and nighttime stargazing. We're about 50-minute scenic drive from Puerto Vallarta International Airport but a world away from the cacophonous crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing