We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A fantastic place to stay in Sayulita! It is a grouping of privately owned villas that are available for rent. Each one is different, ours (called Romantica) was wonderful. Overlooks the ocean, with a completely indoor-outdoor feeling. Huge terrace, outdoor kitchen, ability to keep the large bedroom doors open to hear the ocean all night long. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was excellent for breakfast (did not try dinner). A very short walk into town, which keeps things interesting for dinner. The beach is also right there for daytime fun! Lots of surfing, stand-up paddle, or just relaxing. We were lucky to have a free yoga class the day after we arrived (unfortunately these are only offered twice a week). The WiFi was somewhat problematic but was mostly working. Of note is that several rooms have a long staircase to climb in order to enter, so if you have an issue with this make sure you request a room on the ground floor or lower level. Note that some of the villas have plunge pools within them, so request if you want this. Also, if you are looking for a full-service resort (eg with a concierge to call for hotel reservations or on-site facilties such as golf or boating), this is not the place for you. We were not looking for this, so we loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Naturally it makes us all happy when a guest is happy...and generously takes the time to write a review for us. Thank you.....we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us,,,and hope we may see you again. Thank you,,,Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    65
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
140
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a villa at this boutique hotel.... absolute peaceful luxury -- hi speed internet yes -- television no -- and a full kitchen....we enjoyed the ocean views from our villa on the hill ...and we enjoyed the village and the beach right outside the hotel entrance...thankfully there were no noisy large families and seniors on holiday at this hotel like in the rest of the town!

Room Tip: Suites up the hill are quieter than rooms low on the hill near the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good morning to you,,,and thank you for this uscinct, to the point and I believe very accurate, honest, and spirited review of Villa Amor. I am glad úou got it' ... what we are about.....and are helping tospread the word to the traVELER SEEKING SUPER COMFORT AND AUTHENTICITY ON A mEXICAN B EACH VACATION. hOPE YOU RETURN!!!!! Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Was the first time taking my girlfriend to Sayulita, one of my fav spots in the world, and both our first stay at Villa Amor. We ended up staying in three different rooms as we booked last minute and then had to move us, but ended up being special as we got to see several of the unique rooms. It's a unique location that overlooks the bay, the only drawback is the hotel faces inland east so no sunsets from your room. But that's an ok tradeoff, as you are a short walk along the beach or road to the main square and most of the best restaurants in town, plus can watch those surfing from your room.
There's an excellent beach around the point from the hotel on the west side facing the ocean. Not as busy as the main beach.

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify if you want an open air room or not. If you don't mind sleeping under a bug n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwadecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write your lovely supportive and positive review of Villa Amor. Every review is helpful to us as it often points out things to us that we may be unaware of. In this way we can continue to please our guests...almost all of them!!! We are glad you are one of our happy people! Thank you. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

if you live somewhere where it's snowy, or if you have anything in you life that could possibly prevent you from taking a trip at the last minute this is not the place for you! My husband and I booked a room at Villa Amor for a week to attend my best friends wedding. We paid $1100 up front to reserve our room for 6 nights. We were aware that Villa Amor had a terrible cancellation policy before we booked our trip {no refunds within 40 days of your arrival}, but we booked our room anyway as we couldn't imagine why we wouldn't be taking the trip. A snow storm blew into our area the night before we were due to fly out and our flight was cancelled and we could not reschedule. We called and emailed a number of times trying to see if it would be possible to get a credit for a future stay as this situation was completely beyond our control. They gave us a crazy run around for a number of days{always saying "call again tomorrow, or email again tomorrow explaining your story so our manager can understand your situation"} until they finally told us that there was nothing they could do for us - no credit for a future stay, no refund - essentially "to bad for you". Aside from loosing $1100 dollars, we lost tuns of time chasing the staff for an answer - call after call, email after email. Unless you have lots money and time to burn, I'd advise staying far away from this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Please to all readers of this review::: all hotels must have a cancellation policy that does not allow a guest to claim weather caused a cancellation. If an airport were closed they almost never remain closed for more than a day. this guest coulde have arrived late and if we had an available room we would have happily extended their stay. Instead they called a day or so before arrival and said local weather was against their flying and they would not be down, Our clearly stated cancellation policy specifically says weather is not a justifiab le excuse for cancellation and we do not accept it. I doubt seriously that the guest was given a run around,,,everyone here remembers the initial call and our explanatioin that their deposit was lost. When a guest books their flight for a very small fee,,,usually $35 US dollars they can add insurance that would have refunded them this lost money. Because their cancellation came so late we were not able to rent the room,,,and we lost all the nights income. I understand the guest did not want to loose their money,,,but niether do or can we.

Friends of the guest appeared at Villa Amor during the dates reserved and asked if we would give them,,,not the guest who paid for the room, a credit for a later stay. We see that guest had no trouble arriving in Mexico,,,unfortunately the booking guest did not,

We lost the full income,,,to substitute other days for free or to grant them to their friends makes no sense. It is unfortunate this guest did not get to enjoy their holiday,,,even by arriving a day or so late. The high rental season in Sayulita is short,,,I believe and know that our cancellation policy is fully in line with other resort hotels, both here and worldwide. Payments are expected in full in advance unless another arrangement is made. Unfortunately for this guest who cancelled almost on arrival we can not make a cash refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed with friends and kids at villa Amor this past Christmas in one of the most expensive villa (1000$ per night) at the top of the property. villa Amor has some golf carts for some villas but you can get yours as the road to get up there is very steep and stairs quite hard to climb especially past a certain age. Unfortunately, Villa Amor does not it warm its customers that golf cart are not strong or stable enough to drive up there and should not be driven on such steep road and we had an unfortunate accident. The cart tipped and rolled over. We were lucky that our kids were not in the cart that night. I was the only injured fortunately for my 3 other friends. I broke my foot had stiches and spent 7 weeks in a cast and had to bear medical expenses. At the time of the accident and the morning after NOBODY from management came to see us before we left ( we left at 12pm the day after which was ample time). I contacted villa Amor to ask for reimbursement as there is a clear negligence, no warning signs and residents should be warned when they rent the most expensive villa on top of the property. I had no answers to my mail or very polite answers telling me basically, to file a claim through a lawyer in Mexico...if i had a claim. We were 6 onsite when this happened. Clearly this place does not value its customers, its service and its product.
stay away !!! there are many other lovely place around the bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heavytraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Manager at Villa Amor, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I am the owner manager of the operation known as Villa amor Hotel. The morning after the accident I immediately called the hospital where this reviewer was taken and learned he had left Mexico and flew home. I then emailed him and expressed my sincere apologies for his injury and wished him a speedy recovery. After that initial contact our Administrator for the Home Owners Association (we are 35 privgately owned condominiums) wrote to the gentleman and suggested he contact our insurance company regarding the matter. I do not know how or why this fell thru cracks...but perhaps it did.

I spoke with our night watchman who was on duty the night of the injury, he informs me the golf cart did in fact tip over...and he saw the injured man and 4 others at the scene.

This cart was rented privately,,,we had nothing to do with it,,,and when and if we are involved with the rental of a cart we always instruct the parties to never HAVE MORE THAN 4 INDIVIDUALS ON THE CART AT ANY TIME. I do not know if these guests were so warned by whomever they rented their cart from.

The road is steep...and on any given day there are at least 4 or 5 rental carts used on it. This is the first time an i njury occured. It is unfortunate it happened at all,,,but I believe that if proper care were taken it would not have happened. The accident was around 11Pm......after the gluests came home from enjoying the town and restaurants of Sayulita.

I am sorry anyone was hurt,,,but Villa Amor cares very much about the welfare of our guests....we would never have ignored the incident and trlied to contact the individual but he had flown home the very next morning. I have been in touch with him several times....and the Administrator even went so far as to suggest the guest speak with someone who could inform him of laws and procedures in Mexico. Once this incident was turned over to the insurance carrier we were not permitted to make additional contact.

Barbara Roche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.1 km away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#5 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#6 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
10.3 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
13.1 km away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Property: Villa Amor
Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Price range (per night): ₱3,915 - ₱30,114
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Amor is an eclectic collection of 26 oceanfront villas the tropical surf town of Sayulita, Mexico. Each villa has stunning views of the Sayulita Bay coastline, the Sierra Madre jungle, and the fishing village down the road. All of our villas feature unique, open-air designs with incomparable views from the terraces and lounges for sunbathing and nighttime stargazing. We're about 50-minute scenic drive from Puerto Vallarta International Airport but a world away from the cacophonous crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing