We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation experience”
Review of Villa Amor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vacation experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just returned from 8 nights at Villa Amor. We were very happy with our stay there. Each room is different and unique, so you really need to look at the floor plans. The first 3 nights we spent in Hermosa, the room was spacious enough for 4 people. It was clean, bright, but no real balcony to sit out on. The last 4 nights we were in Casada. It was a totally different experience. The bedroom and bathroom were enclosed with a door and the bedroom had air-conditioning. The rest of the space was a giant outdoor living room over looking the ocean with a small soaking pool. It was just fabulous. All the furniture and architectural details made it so unique and special. It had a sink, coffeemaker, refrigde, toaster and 2 burner stove, so having a quick breakfast of afternoon snack was easy.

The staff, particularly Mirabell at the Concierge desk was helpful, and attentive. We were there in late May so it was less busy than the high season.

There was no central pool, which I did miss, but they are apparently putting one in this summer, so that's another bonus.

The proximity to town and the beaches is excellent. And free WiFi made it easy to check email.

All in all a great experience and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susaninsanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    67
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
148
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've been to Villa Amor twice now. I can't say enough good things - from the service and hospitality, to the overall vibe of the hotel. It mimics Sayulita as a whole as a relaxed, intimate, and bohemian atmosphere. However, Villa Amor also has the workings of a high-end hotel. There are many great aspects - from the beach-views and varying villas (all with kitschy and beautiful moorish influences), to towels for the beach, paddle boards for us, and professional and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Linda is my favorite villa. The little white lights that adorn the ceiling are fun and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

the staff was awesome. so much so that i was guided to the right fit villa for our stay by phone staff. we specifically wanted an ocean view and little kitchen, tranquilita fit this description perfectly. gorgeous tilework, stone shower floors, a/c, microwave/fridge, coffee-maker, even a mini-cooler for the duration of our stay, and of course, a wine bottle opener! the room was equipped with a safe, and books other travelers had left behind. this villa was designed with care, from the reminder of check out time nite before departure, filtered water refilled daily and suggestion to walk to the dela muerta playa rather than the immediate beach for more privacy/less locals trying to sell us jewelry/food etc..
i've seen other reviews that just don't match up to what our experience was. it's true that there is no phone in the room to call front desk, but it fit with the theme and recepcion was a short walk. the hotel does include wifi, though it timed out for larger uploads. i took this as a sign to wait until vacation was over to post photos ;-)
one more note, the map of the villa layout is drawn in such a way as to indicate stand alone units and this was not the case for all, for example http://www.flickr.com/photos/gottshar/8719828328/in/photostream/ - tranquilita is on 2nd floor of a building that houses the other villas pictured in the two rows above it. there are private stand-alone villas but that was not an issue.

we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review,,,what is most important to us is that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is true Tranquilla is not stand alone,,,but with the totally private entrnce and hallway we hope it worked for you. Please come back,,,we look forward to seeing you again. Best, Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived at the Villa Amor this past weekend and i was a little nervous about our room based on the previous review. We couldn´t have been more surprised and happy with what we found! Having stayed all over the world at wonderful hotels I can say that our room at Villa Amor is by far one of the most unique and beautiful rooms I have ever stayed in. It feels like a tree house perched over the ocean with views that are outstanding, decor that is pretty and comfortable beds and furnishing. Even the ´swinging couch´ is a perfectly comfortable extra bed. The staff here are all lovely and helpful and they have been a joy to meet. The location is great, the sound of the waves heavenly and the whole atmosphere just what we had hoped for. We hope to return next year and will ask for the Costa room again! Come here and enjoy a slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Enjoy every minute at this beautiful location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much...your review went right to my heart. I was dismayed at the previous review,,,,and could not be more happy with anything anyone would have said than your words. I am so pleased you had a good time with us....and thrilled that you took this time to counter the other unhappy review.....Why would anyone go out of their way to be so illminded and I think untruthful and hurtful as that person was???? Thanks for your accurate depiction of Costa and Villa Amor. We look forward to welcoming you back...hopefully soon. Thank you,,.,Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The description on the web site does not match the room "COSTA". It appears the room was staged for photos and then replaced with much less comfortable furniture. The art was nearly laughable mix of mesoamerican, Buddhist, late 60's macrame, and pre-WW II modernism. The bed's netting was a constant distraction but, quite necessary. A coffee maker is provided, provided you bring your own coffee, sweetener and milk. The bathroom is dark and dank, 4-5 minutes for hot water. The electrical system scared me the most, given the fact the room is a palapa made of dried palm fronds, there were loose wire hanging down near the palm fronds for no apparent reason. And, the fire extinguisher is located in the most inaccessible place.
However, the views were absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqlocal505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brfnycsay, Owner at Villa Amor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I AM TEMPTED TO SIMPLY IGNORE THIS REVIEW,,,AS WE CAN NOT FIND ANY RECENT GUEST WHO STAYED IN cOSTA IN OUR REGISTRY FROM aLBUQUERKIE. I have asked the reviewer to please contact me,,,but have not had an answer back yet.

There are no hanging electricl wires,,,the fire extinguisher is placed exactly where the fire department wanted it, we provide all guests with approx. two days of organic coffee,, creamera nd sugar and will replace it if requested. Most guests prefer to purchase their own favorite blend. Costa has a recently installed 'on demand' hot water heater and no one else had any problem with it. Our bathrooms are known for their originality and exotic-ness...and no one else has ever found a problem with the bathroom in Costa. Regarding the various art items within Costa...beauty is in the eye of the beholder...and this reviewer obviously did not find any beauty. Perhaps the writer will respond and I may have the opportunity to identify them,,,to ascertaqin they really were guests at Villa amor....naturally I would ask why they remained in Costa, when obviously they were so unhappy. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
0.0 km away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
194 reviews
0.5 km away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
79 reviews
1.1 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
162 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 23 in Sayulita
115 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 23 in Sayulita
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor

Property: Villa Amor
Address: Playa Sayulita | Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Price range (per night): ₱3,921 - ₱30,163
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Amor is an eclectic collection of 26 oceanfront villas the tropical surf town of Sayulita, Mexico. Each villa has stunning views of the Sayulita Bay coastline, the Sierra Madre jungle, and the fishing village down the road. All of our villas feature unique, open-air designs with incomparable views from the terraces and lounges for sunbathing and nighttime stargazing. We're about 50-minute scenic drive from Puerto Vallarta International Airport but a world away from the cacophonous crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing