We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food but beware...”

LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Oppede
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We welcome you every day for Lunch and Dinner from Thursday to Monday evening. Lunch without reservation from 12 to 3 p.m. & Dinner only by reservation from 7:30 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had lunch at Le Petit Cafe last week and decided to return yesterday for lunch. As we were waiting in line to show our "pass sanitaire" we heard the owners of the restaurant refuse a table to a family with three young children. We heard that one of the children might have been on the spectrum.

We were outraged by this attitude which would be totally unacceptable and illegal in the US.

As a conclusion, if you want decent food in a beautiful town, come to this restaurant but BEWARE as you might be supporting a business that enforces discriminatory practices.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzodigalvieri, Propriétaire at LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry Madam, you are mistaken about the reality of the situation: We did not refuse this group of 9 people because of their 3 children (of whom we did not even know that one of them was sick or not!)
We refused these 9 people at 12:15 p.m. because we no longer had a table to offer them on our little terrace after having installed just before their arrival a table of 10 (with 3 children) and a table of 9 (with 4 children), plus of course a few tables of two and four people in start of service. We had offered them to come back in a "big" hour, which they refused, perhaps sadly annoyed and jealous of having arrived after the others, aggressively insisting to be received all the same! Their behavior was inadmissible towards our staff who were working, even using lies and manipulation ... And that is unacceptable! Be careful to understand a complicated situation before falsely translating its reality, Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2021

We stayed 5 nights in Oppede. The restaurant was far in advance fully booked to have dinner at night. But lunch was possible without reservations. We don't regret our visit. The food was very tasty and the terrace was nice. Le panier is a good choice.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank NoeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzodigalvieri, Propriétaire at LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thanks a lot for your beautiful advice ! And welcome back soon ! Cheers ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Charming place, lot of ambience, very good and dedicated service, fine food and wines. Will look forward to coming back!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cbjht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzodigalvieri, Propriétaire at LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thanks a lot and welcome again ! Cheers, the PC team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

Thank you for a very special evening with our great friends Phil and Fran . The obiance was second to none.
Regards Simon & Karen

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank karengI6110OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzodigalvieri, Propriétaire at LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thanks a lot and welcome again ! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

A charming establishment and a place to linger in the timeless afternoons of Provence. Utterly tranquil and soporific, it is situated in the centre of the village, ideal for watching the world go by. Staff were attentive and efficient and we certainly could have sat there all day.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzodigalvieri, Propriétaire at LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Thanks a lot for your charming advice and please welcome again to take a provencal nap on our terrace ! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins also viewed

 

Been to LE PETIT CAFE Restaurant & Bar a Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.