We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potatoes as Big and Your Head”

Fernweh Distilling Co.
Ranked #17 of 31 Restaurants in Hermann
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Description: Artisan cocktail bar, small-batch whiskey distillery, and smokehouse located at the heart of historic Hermann on the Missouri riverfront. Tastings daily. Reservations accepted. Give us a call or email today to plan your visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Artisan cocktail bar, small-batch whiskey distillery, and smokehouse located at the heart of historic Hermann on the Missouri riverfront. Tastings daily. Reservations accepted. Give us a call or email today to plan your visit!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being whiskey people, we couldn't pass up this place after a suggestion at our hotel. We were not disappointed. Loved the rye and the food was exceptional. Our server was equally wonderful, bright and cheerful and very helpful. Wonderful dinner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macmonkey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable D, Manager at Fernweh Distilling Co., responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had never done a tasting at a distillery, and it was a good break from all of the wine tastings earlier in the day. The moonshine was interesting, and I enjoyed the cocktail sample. There is a charge for the tastings, I think it was about $10 per person.

After the tasting, we just ate at the bar so we didn’t have to wait for a table. Friendly service, good variety of food on the menu.

Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival, the employee conducting the tastings was hasty and rude and came across very snug. We popped over to the restaurant side to check out the menu, the hostess there is the only reason this place isn’t getting 1 star. We left almost immediately.

Thank Brittney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable D, Manager at Fernweh Distilling Co., responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Brittney, we're saddened to hear that your first impression wasn't up to our standards of service. In order to help us prevent another bad experience, could you please send us an email detailing when you visited and what exactly happened that caused you to leave unhappy? We'd greatly appreciate your feedback, our email address is info@fernwehdistilling.com. We hope you'll try us again and allow us the opportunity to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went in here on a whim, and were not disappointed! We enjoyed tasting the three locally made whiskies. We ate a reasonably priced and delicious dinner with cocktails. Nice location in a walkable city, comfortable fine dining experience, and friendly staff.

Thank alycewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable D, Manager at Fernweh Distilling Co., responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1st time to Hermann Mo for two day getaway out of the city on a cool, overcast March weekend. Very nice town & setting. Ate two meals and did the tasting at Fernweh...WOW, what a GREAT small batch Rye whiskey!!! I'm a whiskey guy, some of the best rye whiskey I've ever had, lovely smoked flavor at the end, just splendid!! Bought two bottles to savor. Ate dinners twice there since the first one was so good! Well done soups and smoked brisket and rib tips even better than you'd get in K.C., great whiskey infused sauce too. Nicely done place inside and out and the tasting was great too! Help was wonderful, portions were great, and with drinks the price was fantastic!! Something you wouldn't see in K.C. or STL for the money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank etw e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable D, Manager at Fernweh Distilling Co., responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Hermann, and our whiskey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernweh Distilling Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing