We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”

Golden Dragon Palace
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We are a group of friends that get together about 5 or 6 times a year. The GD is a favourite of two of the couples so they recommended we all go for our Xmas get together.
Apart from the service being a little slow, the food was very good. Nice variety, plenty of choices. The Peking Duck was divine, the dumplings were delish, the 2 fish dishes we chose were great, we also selected two veg dishes, one spinach and one tofu, mushroom and bamboo dish. All the dishes we selected were very tasty.
I mentioned the service was a little slow, but when it was there they were very obliging and helpful.
This is a restaurant we would visit again

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 822JennyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

We were invited to dinner by good friends who had decided to move to the warmer climes of Brisbane. We had not gone there before and immediately noticed that it was an upmarket restaurant with amazing decor. Each of the 5 of us ordered our own meal and comments were mixed. I think that for the prices I expected more positive comments. All round I felt that the cost was high relative to the value. We saw that this restaurant serves shark fin, so on principle we will not return.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We paid $920 for 10 of us & were very disappointed with the meal quality & food presentation.

The lobster was pre-served & portions were very small. The bed of noodles was not the normal variety, but wider noodles that were soggy & soft in texture. The steamed morwong fish was not fresh at all. Crispy Chicken was standard, chopped into huge pieces & piled onto a normal plate.

We expected food to be presented much better for a banquet (since we booked for 30).

Service was poor. Waiting staff failed to replenish tea cups & teapots; & we had to remind them many times through the night.

The ambience was good (restaurant being half empty on a Saturday night), but the poor value meal did not make up for it.

Definitely not recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oztravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We went for the Sunday 12.20 session. You are limited to only 1hr and 10 min max. They were moving us out and the next lot were waiting to come in. We felt very rushed but that is Yum Cha. For me I like to take my time and really enjoy. Food was very good and a big slection. We took our wine BYO but they are Fully Licensed. Plenty of staff to serve you. Parking is a little trickey at changeover times.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Byza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Omg what a selection. The food was to die for. My partner who doesn’t eat seafood loved the white bait. The staff were lovely helping us decide what was good to eat. The chicken pies were scrumptious. Heaps of flavour and the pastry was a great texture. Definitely go back.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank TanyaCrane965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Palace also viewed

Templestowe Lower, Manningham
 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 

Been to Golden Dragon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing