We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tong Thai

Tong Thai
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Bulleen
Price range: US$11 - US$18
Cuisines: Thai
Description: "Australia's unique Thai restaurants, combining International and Australian Thai cuisine delicacies."
Restaurant details
Description: "Australia's unique Thai restaurants, combining International and Australian Thai cuisine delicacies."
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We are regular diners at Tong Thai. The family running the restaurant are delightful & the food is sublime. Everything is excellent, but their Chicken Larb Salad (extra hot - this is my benchmark item in Thai restaurants) is exceptional. The massaman Beef Curry is also well worth a mention - succulent pieces of beef & potato in creamy massaman sauce. There is a bottle shop next door, which is handy as they are BYO wine.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank SqueakingDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

Every dish tried was excellent, with very good service. This is a family run business with two sisters who are very well trained chefs. I would be hard pressed to find a better Thai restaurant in Melbourne. Staff are very friendly and treat you like a friend, supervised by the third sister who runs front of shop. Reasonably priced also.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongThai Cuisin... N, Owner at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for your lovely words, Gary. we look forward to welcoming you to TongThai again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Tong Thai has some of the best Thai food Melbourne has to offer.
We just can't get enough of the foods here. Foods are so delicious and fresh that we can go many times a week. Yes, it's our favorite Thai restaurant in Melbourne.

Apart from the fantastic foods, they provide an amazing service, the staffs and the owner are very friendly and forthcoming with recommendations if you're a little unsure of something on the menu. We have recomended Thai Tong to our friends and they all love it. It's great value for money and great quality Thai foods.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank ripplepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongThai Cuisin... N, Owner at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you very much for your kind compliments, we look forward to bring you exceptional meals and service again, see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We have been regular diners at Tong Thai for over a year now. The restaurant is run by the most beautiful Thai family who welcome every guest as if they were a dear friend or neighbour. The food is the best Thai Food I have ever had in Melbourne and the fact that it's a five minute walk from my home makes me feel I've won the "Food Lottery". The dishes are always fresh and beautifully presented and the menu aims to please even the most fussy eater. Thank you Tong Thai for chosing Bulleen!!!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MichelleD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongThai Cuisin... N, Tong Thai Team at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

..can't express enough our appreciation for great support from you and your family since we open the door at Bulleen, thanks a million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent food with really fresh quality ingredients. Very tasty and diverse flavours with each dish. Friendly staff, meeting Nuch and her delightful family providing quick service. Very clean restaurant also offering home delivery. Great restaurant to have in our neighbourhood and we'll definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: March 2016
2  Thank Tooraktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongThai Cuisin... N, Owner at Tong Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Nice to meet you and welcome you and your lovely family at TongThai and thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so glad that you enjoy our food and our services. We'll keep up the good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong Thai also viewed

Templestowe, Manningham
 
Bulleen, Manningham
Bulleen, Manningham
 
Bulleen, Manningham
 

Been to Tong Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing