We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sanctuary Retreat(Bingil Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/30
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach(Mission Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/03
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Reef Resort(Kurrimine Beach)
US$77
US$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurrimine Beach Motel(Kurrimine Beach)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tully Motel(Tully)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moondarra Motel Innisfail(Innisfail)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/03
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Marlin Motel(Innisfail)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/01
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/02
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
167
51
20
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
51
20
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastthe east coastbig screenjackaroo hostelshuttle busthe kitchenoutdoor cinemamission beachfree bus serviceswimming poolbug sprayhostel offersbeautiful hostelcommon areasmain townnice pooltree house
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The greyhound shuttle takes you in about 20 minutes to the hostel. You arrive in the middle of nowhere and the Woolworth is closed on sundays. The reception sells food and water, but not on reasonable prices, e.g. a bottle of 0.5 l water costs 2 Dollars. The bathrooms are not really clean and we didn’t feel comfortable in them. There is no possibility to hang anything in the shower. Our double room was right next to the toilets, and we could hear the door slamming all night. You could also hear the people next door because of the thin walls.
The pool and the views are nice but there are no sun lounges or chairs available.
The kitchen is really nice, spacious and clean. The offered free breakfast would have been nice, but there was neither enough milk nor bread so it was basically pointless. That is especially annoying if you are staying so far from a supermarket.
The free shuttle is nice, but it only takes you six times a day (2 times to Woolworth), which can be annoying if you have to plan your whole day around it.
The beach that is close (25 minutes walk) by does not have a stinger net, so one would have to walk about an hour to swim in the ocean.
If you stay there you need to reapply mosquito spray at least every hour because they are really out to get you.
All in all we wouldn’t like to stay again. If one wants to stay there make sure to not arrive on a Saturday evening or Sunday or have groceries beforehand.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank maren_mueller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This hostel is very unique as it sits in the Rainforest a little way off the main part of town. It has a nice pool and view over the forest. It has a shuttle to take you to most places as it’s too remote to walk but they leave frequently. Being in the forest, there’s plenty of bugs, but the common areas have good fans and air circulation. Bring bug spray for hikes and beach trips. The dorms air/con didn’t work well and the private didn’t have air/con at all, so it does get hot at night trying to sleep. Overall, it’s a unique way to spend in Mission Beach. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I spent a year in Australia visiting places and sleeping in many hostels, but this one was definitely the most exotic and beautiful I have ever been. It is located in the middle of the rainforest (but it is not one of those hostels half finished and super rustic) and it offers excellent facilities everything is well done and thought for you to have a great time; it has a swimming pool, a nice bar, comfortable and clean rooms as well as the bathrooms, the open kitchen is very nice and useful…. in general the common areas invite to stay, as well as the friendly staff and the activities they do. Definitely recommend it, the best and clean hostel I visited in Australia in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.


Pasé un año en Australia recorriendo lugares y hostales obviamente, pero este definitivamente fue el más exótico y hermoso. Está ubicado en medio de la selva, pero no es de esos hostales a medio terminar super rústicos, todo lo contrario, ofrece instalaciones buenísimas, está todo muy bien hecho y pensado para que lo pases genial; tiene piscina, habitaciones cómodas y limpias igual que los baños, la cocina abierta es muy linda y en general las áreas comunes invitan a quedarse, lo mismo que el amigable staff y las actividades que realizan. Definitivamente lo recomiendo, el mejor hostel que visité en Australia en uno de los lugares más lindos que vi.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Whilst travelling Australia we had a camper van and stayed here one night for a treat! It was so nice we ended up staying for 4 months! We love Jackaroo Treehouse and plan to visit again in the near future! Amazing for all types of guests whether youre travelling alone or with your family. The place is absolute paradise, but with wifi and a great shower! Much love to Jackaroo, it will always be a special place for me!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

This place is the best hostel in Australia!!! I loved the place and the beach so much that I couldn't leave it. I was planning to stay 2 days but in the end I stayed one week!
The hostel is beautiful, clean, big and in the middle of the most wonderful nature! It has an amazing outdoor cinema, large open living areas, free breakfast, free bus service to the beach and the shops. The kitchen is very organised. The staff was great! We had a fire pit BBQ at the beach, and we hired a boat to see some islands! It was the best experience ever! The owner, Rob, is very nice and funny, and will make you feel at home!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews