We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal Experience for families!”

Rapid River Logging Camp
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Park Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We make it to the Rapid River Logging Camp every year when we visit Park Rapids. It is our favorite restaurant there. The food is very good. It is all you can eat - a great value! All ages in our group enjoy the atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Annual event for our families. The atmosphere is fun- family style dinner is also fun! Driving up to the facility to see chickens on the fence & in the yard -fun .. Wonder if our chicken dinners came from the ones sitting on the fence to greet us . Food okay.

Thank C8678EJmichellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaCharlene, Owner at Rapid River Logging Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

The chicken does not come from the free range chicken on the fence. We are an all you can eat restaurant. We would have to have a chicken farm to feed everyone. Sorry to hear that your food was ok, maybe tell us a little more about why it was just ok?
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I've been going here for 36 years and it's still just as good as the first time. They only take cash but the amount of food you get is very good. You can have all five meats (chicken, ribs, beef, pork, ham) if you want and you get all the sides (beans, mashed potatoes, cole slaw, noodle salad, buns with the BEST blueberry jam and corn bread) and milk and lemonade that you want. At the end you get a large donut, which we usually bring home. The atmosphere is very cool and it's by a river that kids can feed the fish.

1  Thank baseballslage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaCharlene, Owner at Rapid River Logging Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you! We thank you for your long time business and we love seeing familiar faces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I have been there a few times before, this particular weekend my Husband and I ate there twice. First with our friends for our motorcycle weekend trip for breakfast and the second time for lunch with his parents. You can't go wrong for any meal here. The service, the portions - the experience. You may have to wait a bit... but the food is worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maidenmn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Decided to try dinner here. They only take CASH or CHECKS, no credit cards which a lot of folks don't know. Nice waitress, food was good, atmosphere good, wish the outside buildings had more to see/read about the logging history. Also need to do more advertising so folks know about this as well as the sign to enter the camp. If you aren't paying close attention you'll miss it, been told by family that the breakfasts are very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank butterball2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaCharlene, Owner at Rapid River Logging Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thanks for you review. We are a seasonal business and do not take credit cards. We have an ATM in the gift shop. This is how we have been for 36 years. We do not try to change. The restaurant was never a real Logging Camp, but if you took the chance to ask we would gladly tell you that. The signs speak for themselves. We do a enough advertising. We are in papers, magazines, and on the radio. We are a small time business and we have great turnouts. The sign was taken down by a semi that carries food to our place , if it happened once it will happen again. So, this is why the little sign.
Thank you,
The Ole Logger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid River Logging Camp also viewed

 

Been to Rapid River Logging Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing