We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
121
35
14
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
121
35
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coron bay soup delicious food natural beauty minute boat ride felt safe dive resort no hot water remote island rooms are spacious buffet dinner wwii wrecks homemade bread fresh fish worth a visit philippines trust
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2022

Since I heard of some folks complaining, let me first tell you what Chindonan isn't... it's not a high-end luxury resort. Don't expect amenities such as hot showers, 24-hour electricity, a full-service spa, high-speed internet, and all that. The rooms are spacious but spartan, the aircon struggles to keep you cool. Chindonan is an eco-outpost on a remote island, made for divers and the more adventurous seeking quiet and tranquility amidst natural beauty. If just reviewing the rooms, facilties, and amenities though, I'd rate it a "3".

But Chindonan is very much the people. Per P, the dreamer/owner/builder who brought us this place is truly delighted that you chose to come and cares that you have the best stay possible. Matt HM is the dive instructor/dive shop manager who can take you where you never thought you'd go, build your confidence, doing it all with safety foremost in his mind. Chindonan is in a prime location on Coron Bay and it's famous WWII shipwreck diving; the local reefs are worth a visit too.

I wish I could remember the names of all the rest of the staff but you are always greeted with a smile, anything they can do for you they will. Again, always with that genuine warm smile. On a scale of 0 to 5, the people rate a "7".

My thanks also to the chef(s). Your visit includes a made-to-order breakfast and buffet dinner. The dinner buffet wasn't lavish but always tasty and healthy, typically two entrees, vegetables, salad, soup and dessert. For most of our stay there were only four guests, including us, so any more than this would be wasteful.

Averaging a "3" and a "7" we get "5", and that's my rating for Chindonan. Thank you Per, Matt, and the rest of the staff for a wonderful adventure. We're glad you survived the pandemic and we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per Sigbjørn Pedersen, General Manager at Chindonan Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2022

Hi Mark,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us and for your friendship. The staff are all very grateful for your kind words about the people that make up the resort team.

We would be delighted to see you both again and enjoy more diving and good conversation together.

Stay safe and be in touch,

Kind regards
Chindonan Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2022

The location of this resort is amazing. It's away from the noise of Coron Town, you'll get gorgeous views of sunrise and sunset, and it's less than a 10 minute boat ride to some of the best shipwreck diving in the Phils. We got the wrecks all to ourselves most days because they're located so close to the resort. Matt, our dive guide, is an expert at navigating through the shipwrecks. There aren't many dive guides left in Coron (since COVID happened) who can say that now...it was a treat full of trust and fun to have someone like Matt guide us safely through the wrecks! THANK YOU MATT
In terms of dive gear- they just bought a whole new set of Cressi wetsuits among other things so you can be sure your rental dive gear is fresh and good to go!
The staff there are sooo lovely and wonderful. They kept our rooms clean and neat. Thank you for the cold beers and delicious food- SARAP!
The resident loving dog, Caesar, greeted us upon arrival by boat. He was the cherry on top of our great experience.
What a treat it was to truly getaway from it all. You have to make a trip to Chindonan!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per Sigbjørn Pedersen, General Manager at Chindonan Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2022

Hi Stephanie

Thanks so much for your kind words and feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the diving was awesome.

It means a lot to us to hear that staying with us on our remote Island was a treat and getaway.

Stay in touch with us and we would be delighted to see you again in the future.

Very best
Chindonan Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2020

Great staff and owners, Awesome location, really good food, cold beer, Professional dive advice and guiding to some incredible locations. Everything you would hope for in a beautiful location. Do make the effort to go here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan_martland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Could not recommend this place enough
Beautiful room
Lovely staff friendly always a smile of their faces accommodating
Peaceful and quiet
Great for snorkelling as we where not divers
just gutted we didn’t have a longer stay
Brilliant stay
We loved it

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank F2855XGsimong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I booked a dive package for an 8 night stay at Chindonan Dive resort, In October and November 2019. This was our first experience scuba diving in the Philippines. Between the team at the resort, our awesome dive instructors and the dives sites we had a great time.

The resort: We had complimentary transfers to and from the airport, including a speed boat to Chindonan Island. We were met and welcomed by dive instructors, Kenneth, Matt and Sean. As guests you are very well looked after and due to the size of the resort being small (18 guests max) the arrival felt personalised and genuine.

The food: I requested vegetarian food, and almost every dinner was different and objectively delicious. The quality of food was consistently good and the team behind the cooking were great. Breakfast and dinner was included with our package. Lunch and drinks were the only extra cost.

The villa's: Are all a short walk from the restaurant the centre for socialising, eating, drinking and hoping on and off boats. The villas are large, clean and comfortable and have A/C.

Due to the remote location, an eco friendly approach to Chindonan's operation is adopted, helping to keep the island clean and untouched. The island has its own spring water which is clean to drink, and supplies all water for showering and drinking.

Our experience: We were diving at the end of the wet season so we felt like we had the island to ourselves. We both did over 15 dives each whilst we were there, the majority upon all of the wrecks available. We visited Baracuda Lake, diving to about 36m in unique thermo and hydro climb conditions, a truly weird and wonderful experience. The wreck dives were sequentially harder so we ended with a mind blowing 40m enriched air penetrative wreck dive at the end.

The diving in general was of very good quality, dive times were as planned and ranged between 36 min to 60mins (site and dive plan dependent) and we dived the house reef for about 1.2hrs solo. Visibility varied depending on what you were doing and the wet season effected visibility on occasions due to blooming plankton, the big however is that with the deep wreck diving it gets pretty dark so you need torches and when penetrating wrecks visibility isn’t an issue as there is generally not much current moving through them, at least when we were there. I would say that Chindonan is a must if you are keen on wrecking diving.

All the equipment and boats were well maintained, giving a sense of assurance. We booked a package and ended up purchasing a handful of extras, a few more fun dives and extra certification.

Due to the proximity most of the dives were accessed by single trips on a small boat and we would head back to the resort on all surface intervals to either relax or get some food.

Sean and Matt the instructors were on all of our dives and due to wet season it was one on one for over 60% of our dives. Both very interesting and experienced people bringing invaluable insights and learning for both of us, we had such fun diving with them, every day we honed our skills and left the resort with further knowledge, better techniques and importantly some great memories.

Lastly, we have been certified divers for about 5 years and both my wife and I felt that this trip was a turning point for us in terms of solidifying current techniques and learning new ones, realising we are now divers for life. Subsequently we have purchased dive computers and have just joined a club so we can dive all year round.

As scuba divers exploring the globe its always hard to know where to go next, wading through so many different shops or resorts wondering whether you'll get a good deal or a good experience. We are all of course different and expect different things, but in the 5 years of diving this has been one of the best overall experiences and would recommend Chindonan to start or continue wreck diving and to also see some pristine reefs as well. We will certainly return.

Good job team Chindonan!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank djo1987k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews