We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Americinn as a close-to-home, much needed getaway. We stayed in a whirlpool fireplace suite. We checked in to find a quiet, clean space to rest and relax. The whole property was clean and well maintained. We received a warm welcome from the front desk staff, and they continued to be helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed the comfort of the room while we ate Chinese takeout from a local restaurant for dinner. Fireplace was well functioning and very cozy. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub downstairs. It was clean and well maintained. Used the in-room whirlpool as well-very relaxing! Headed down to breakfast in the morning to find freshly made waffles and biscuits and gravy, among other tasty items. Food was well stocked, and the area was nice and clean. Checking out was easy and quick, and once again the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay! We will be back again and will definitely recommend the Americinn to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris and Heath... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great time and able to relax at the hotel. Our staff strives to make every guest feel "at home" I look forward to seeing you on your return visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 488 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked a king size room with jacuzzi and fireplace for a 4 night stay using the toll free number. The pictures online looked nice. Upon arrival the desk clerk told us that we could have gotten the room at a cheaper rate had we called the hotel directly, but then didn't give us a better rate. Getting into the room it was functional at best, extremely outdated, but it looked clean so we decided we would stick it out. I went to the bathroom (which was really small) and noticed rusty water stains on the ceiling tiles, and a chunk missing out of the counter on the vanity sink. I had booked this room with the thought in mind of cuddling up in front of the fireplace with hubby for a nice getaway. The suite we booked had a fireplace which ended up being awkwardly placed in the other room with a random couch not even facing the fireplace. When I went to turn the fireplace on it didn't work. That's when I had had enough. We went back downstairs to get a refund and told the staff we werent satisfied with our room and they offered us another suite for the first three nights but we would have to move the last night into a regular room. Spent 20 minutes trying to sort things out where they weren't going to give us a refund. They told us we would be charged $25 because we didn't cancel 24hours prior. After more arguing they ended up charging $20 because I had used the bathroom! Don't go here! I thought by booking a chain hotel I could count on service and reliability-NOT HERE! We went down the road to another locally run hotel and got a much nicer room for a much better rate! And a jacuzzi tub:)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

I am sorry you feel the way you do about the cleaning charge. The hotel attempted to help work with you by even contacting the Travel Agency that booked your reservation as you stated you were upset you got a queen bed and not a king. As you know the agency confirmed they booked you a queen bed. The charges were only because the room was occupied and used by you and thus, to be able to re-sell the room, we had to clean it again. If the room was not used, we would not have given any charges. As stated the when you checked out the room was not able to be canceled per reservation policy. The hotel let you out of the reservation without any issues other than the cleaning charge because the room had been occupied and we had to clean the room. We pride ourselves on our award winning service and accommodations and we are sorry you did not feel we took care of your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

They have a great pool and hot tub! Would love a later check out on Sunday (my boyfriend does Army drills in T.C. so would be nice to stay past 11:00) Got a free hour on Sunday when I came down 10 minutes after 12:00 to check out they told me there would be a $20 charge...but she waived it..just FYI they mean business with their checkouts.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out on time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank im_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you "LOVED IT" here at the AmericInn! We are proud of our hotel and we couldn’t do it without guests like you! As for the late check-out, just give one of our guest service staff a call in the morning or stop by the desk in advance of check-out and most of the time, we are able to help you out with a late check-out! If you ever have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask for the manager on duty or myself (I’m Nick, the General Manager) direct. We are here to help make your stay even better! Oh, and next time you are at the hotel, please stop and introduce yourself, I would like to thank you for your “LOVED IT” comment in person! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Our Corvette Club travels to T.C. every fall since 2003 and have always stayed at the AmericInn, and this year a 2nd Club from Indiana joined us. Nick the GM and his staff have always gone out of their way to make our experience an awesome one. He goes above and beyond making sure we have good service even at off site restaurants. Its so nice to go every year and see the same people - like visiting distance relatives but nicer. LOL! Thank you Nick, Brooke, Jason and the rest of the AmericInn staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet so any of them are great. However, the lobby does get a little loud in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments and review! We love being able to welcome you and our many other groups back year after year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have made this our Traverse City hotel when we come up annually. You cannot beat the price (even during holiday weekends) for the amenities. It is a small enough hotel that it isn't very loud or overcrowded. There is a free continental breakfast every morning and their suites have jacuzzi tubs and a fireplace option. The location is great too, not too far from the downtown, but not too far out of the city limits. Having a Dairy Queen right next door is nice too, especially if you have kids.

Room Tip: Only two levels here but I would suggest being put away from the lobby as it gets busy (and louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Silver_Cat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments! We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
3.8 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Address: 1614 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: ₱3,716 - ₱12,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Expedia so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing