We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
133
15
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house cats and dogs fresh fruit fabulous chef perfect weekend extensive grounds charm and character lovely hosts bread rooms are large bedroom and bathroom an easy drive normandy beaches top floor beautiful room maureen antiques
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This truly was a perfect weekend in every way in a hotel that I would recommend to anyone wanting a warm welcome, a beautiful room and excellent food. The friendly atmosphere, superb gardens and pool would make it perfect for families as well as couples like us. Just take loose clothes as you won't be able to resist the food!

The location would be perfect for visiting the Normandy beaches and or the Bayeux tapestries.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank frostylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

I cannot recommend le Manoir de La Riviere enough. The manor itself is beautiful, sitting in its own extensive grounds with delightful views from the gardens onto the woods, river and hills. Our room on the top floor was large, and very comfortable, with a huge and well equipped bathroom, and windows opening onto the views at the back of the manor. Absolute peace and quiet. Maureen is a wonderful host, very welcoming and chatty, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast in the sunny dining room is a treat with fresh fruit, home made jams and fresh croissants, and I highly recommend to book dinner in advance, absolutely delicious. We had dinner by the fireplace on our first night after a long drive, and on the terrace in the company of the cats and Moses the dog (!) on our last night. We loved our stay at the Manor.

Room tip: Great views and huge bed in room 2!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here overnight on our way to the ferry port of Caen.
The bedroom and bathroom were large with the bathroom having a big walk in shower and old fashioned claw foot bath.
We ordered an evening meal before we arrived. The food was very good and the breakfast was good as well.
We met the lady owned and got on well with Iain who cooked and served the food.
WiFi was very good.
Car parking is good and the Manoir is close to the village.

Room tip: Book evening meal before arrival.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have been visiting this wonderful getaway for at least ten years, and it seems to be. Better every single time. Maurice and Iain are so warm and welcoming that it seems like we're visiting good friends in the country.

The manor house is ancient, but it has been lovingly restored with beautiful armoires and other antiques scattered throughout. The bathrooms are totally moderns, with big, fluffy towels, and the bed linens are the most beautiful I've ever seen.

The site includes forty acres, with an orchard and beautiful gardens with flowers and herbs. In the evening, weather allowing, we have drinks on the relaxing back garden area, surrounded be the resident cats and dogs,

Iain is the chef, and he produces the most fabulous meals I've ever enjoyed. I usually start dieting the minute I leave! Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and it's as good as everything is here. It included yogurt, fruit, pastries, bread and Maurie's fabulous home made jam.

I can't say enough good things about this beautiful place!

Room tip: The third floor is especially quiet. One or two rooms are suitable for families, but I wouldn't take very young children to dinner here.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marythorn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Our extended family stayed here for several nights as part of a larger trip. This was our favorite place to stay! We traveled with children ranging from 5 to 13 years of age and they loved it. Ian and Maureen are lovely hosts and went out of their way to make it a memorable vacation. The rooms are large and comfortable, with a lot of charm and character. Ian is a fabulous chef, make sure to enjoy a dinner or two while there! The beaches of Normandy are an easy drive and Bayeux is a nearby town with lots to experience. We also went to a cidery and did a tasting. We are already looking forward to returning to this beautiful manor!

Room tip: We stayed in the manor house and loved our rooms there!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews