We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Imperial
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$76
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seven Inn(Bodh Gaya)
US$53
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Bodhgaya(Bodh Gaya)
US$53
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mahamaya(Bodh Gaya)
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Heritage(Bodh Gaya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sujata Hotel(Bodh Gaya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
5
5
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
5
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2016

We did Delhi to Gaya by express train overnight. arrived at 3.30am and were warmly welcomed. Very peaceful place. Almost all guests are Buddhist pilgrims from all over Asia. All nationalities are catered for with a variety of meals from their homelands. However we found the Indian food to be a little short on spice. Good food all the same. Just a short drive to the main Buddhist pilgrim sites and the ancient Hindu Darshinaaka Sun temple. No foreign tourists here and genuine village friendliness.
Extremely glad that at these sites the guide and hawkers are not persistent and back off when asked.

Room Tip: As for as I could tell, all rooms are good, quiet and clean.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

My delegation and I lived in the hotel on April 1. After a long journey from Kolkata to Delhi, it's a good and quite harbor for a rest. We also held an event at the meeting room there. It's clean and clear, and the service was very good.
For the food it provided. I like the porridge and Chinese cabbage in the breakfast. It's real Chinese flavor.
Some of the staffs can speak Chinese. It's very helpful to tourists from China.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Hotel The Imperial is tourist friendly and cleanly. It's a beautiful surprise to be greeted with a hot wash cloth to freshen your face and hands, then given a flower lei, a cold can of Coke Cola and a fabric lei. Now that's service that doesn't happen often. The rooms are spacious and clean with a window that opens. There's a lovely tea pot. Also an iron & ironing board in the room. My room had a beautiful view of the open landscape. There is free wifi but it doesn't work in your room, you have to go to the lobby. The hotel restaurant is excellent as we ate here for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We did this because we weren't sure of the food cleanliness in the town we were in, so, best to be safe and we were.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for the suites.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiian555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights as part of a tour and were greeted with cool soda refreshments, flower necklaces and wet towels. There is free wifi that works in the rooms but seems to work best in the lobby however it can still be slow when many people are connected.

The location is a bit far from the Mahabodhi temple and it is in the middle of farms but that means quiet nights of restful sleep. There is the site of a Buddha relic close by which doesn't seem to get too many visitors, it's only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There isn't much to see there so it's probably only for avid Buddhists on pilgrimage.

There is laundry service which some people took advantage of, I preferred to hand wash small items and used the clothes line over the relatively modern bath. Shower pressure and water temperatures were fine. There is a ventilation fan to reduce mould and the toilet flushes well. A hair dryer is available in the bathroom.

Room is cleaned each day and has complimentary water, tea and coffee with kettle in room. There is a mini fridge, table and chair, tv (we didn't use so can't tell you quality). The beds are clean and comfortable not too soft or hard, sheets are decent. We had a fold out bed as we were three people, it was NOT comfortable at all. There is air conditioning as well as ceiling fans. As with all parts of India, there are small power outages throughout the day however they don't last long, as the back up generator usually kicks in. Longest power outage we had was 1-2 mins.

The best thing about the hotel is the service, the food is relatively the same with minor variations from breakfast, lunch and dinner although we were part of a vegetarian group. Service from the guys in the restaurant was great, they were happy to help with any sort of dietary needs and were helpful in pointing out Indian dishes and suggesting that we try it. There is garam chai, a hot spice tea which was brought to me at every meal as they noticed how much I enjoyed it. There is also normal tea and coffee, sweet mango or grape juice. Desserts range from fresh fruits, rice puddings to ice cream with fried banana which is great as it's fitting to the local cuisine. A few of us had sore throats and requested honey, lemon and ginger to which they happily obliged.

At no time did we feel the need to tip and were never asked to by the cleaning staff, the porters or the wait staff. As I come from a country that doesn't usually tip this made my stay more enjoyable as there wasn't any awkward interactions.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeLien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

Bodhgaya is a place where Siddharta got enlightenment under the Bodhi Tree. it is the most holy place for Budhhist pilgrims from all over the world. Accordingly the place has innumerable Hotels, monasteries,and guest houses.

This hotel is located 5 Km short of Bodhgaya amidst agricultural fields on the main road from Gaya to Bodhgaya. The location is quite and away from the congestion of hotels located in Bodhgaya. Connectivity to Bodhgaya is good.

Rooms are spacious, staff is willing and helpful and food is simple, nutricous and delicious although lacks in variety. Hotel is new and some facilities are still evolving but for a tourist facilities are adequate and tarrif affordable.

Overall it is value much more for money and I recommend the hotel to all tourists

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews