We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lori B
Manistique, Michigan

Real U.P. Motel

Review of Star Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 14, 2019
Locally owned with a helpful staff. Clean, comfortable, quiet. This is just the sort of place a traveler looks for. Very reasonably priced. Just minutes from town with Lake Michigan right outside the back window.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱4,649
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    ₱4,650
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    ₱6,971
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱7,145
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    ₱7,146
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Evening out front
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,411
  • Vio.com
4.3 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
logo
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,649
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front area of motel
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.9 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    ₱6,336
  • Hotels.com
54.8 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱9,324
  • Hotels.com
55.9 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel Site
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,498
  • Booking.com
56.9 km from Star Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Manistique
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
95
56
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
95
56
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds chain hotels lake motel office rates michigan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 164 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

The Star is no frills accommodations but is an impeccably clean and enjoyable place to stay that I return to each year when I trek around Lake Michigan. The whole place has nostalgic feel to it that fans of mid century roadside motels will love. While it looks straight out of the 1950s, the rooms and furnishings are in about as good of shape as when they were brand new. A lot of care from the long time owners have gone into this place.

And did I mention cool lake breezes and the expansive property fronting the lake? It’s perfect for grabbing a coffee and taking a morning walk.
When in Manistique, skip the typical chain motels and give this place a try!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank TJ_Douglas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

A short walk through the back yard to the Lake Michigan beach. Clean and basic well maintained room with A/C, Fridge, TV, and Full Bath. We found plenty of dining options in the area but had to leave too early to try out their morning coffee.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank chasmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This places is on my all time favorite place to stay in the UP. I tell all my family and friends about this family-owned Motel. Yes it older but lete tell you you can't go wrong staying here. The rooms are very cleanly the beds are comfortable in the views of Lake Michigan are on believable. I love this places

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank bobby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

The Star is my favorite place to stay in Manistique! Friendly owners and staff, clean rooms with access to Lake Michigan. Good wi-fi, spacious rooms, quiet. There was a fridge in the room and coffee available in the lobby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Grltrvlr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This wasn't our first choice... But it had rooms available. The little older lady (think she was the owner) was a hoot! 84 years old and snappy enough to joke around with two biker guys!!! When riding MC we like to be able to park our bikes and trailers outside the door. The room was simple....nothing fancy but was clean. Plenty of towels, air conditioning worked and beds were ok. The location was on Lake Michigan.... Not a clear view of the lake from the room....but a nice back area to sit and walk back to the Lake..... It rained like mad when we were here.... Chairs were outside our room, so we sat outside and enjoyed the weather..... We make the best out of everything! We had fun. The lady said she would have coffee on at 0730 hrs but she must've overslept.....

This is a simple park by your door motel.... Nothing more and nothing less....

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 4barbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews