We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Everything about this place was perfect for my needs. Close to Little Caesars Arena, Parade route right outside, close to Ford Field. Lot's of restaurants walking distance too. Valet and check in while busy were smooth. Bartenders and Bar manager were pleasant and offered excellent service. Room(724) was large enough for the four of us and clean. Temperature controls worked, water pressure good, lighting good. The building is really neat in and of itself. Aloft will be my go to place Downtown from now on!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I visited the city to attend a concert at the Fillmore. I chose Aloft initially for its convenient location. But I didn't expect to be so totally blown away during my 2-night stay there. The architecture was impressive. The rooms looked beautiful and clean. And the staff were super professional and accommodating--they really went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and ensure our needs were properly taken care of. They treat you right, and they make every guest feel like their top priority. Also, a huge special thank you to Bryant and Justin for being so fabulous and awesome!! You guys really went the extra mile for us :). I can't wait to go back to this city and this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank PawPrints77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Booking: Booked a 1-night stay in Detroit to watch the Lions game via the SPG website.

Location: The location of the hotel is perfect as it's right downtown next to Comerica Park and Ford Field. You literally cannot get anymore downtown than the Aloft.

Check-In and Lobby: The lobby and check-in are in the David Whitney Building. It might be confusing at first because it looks to be a commercial building but it is indeed a hotel. There are also residents that stay here long-term.

The Room: Standard double bed. The bathroom was right next to the entrance which I found to be odd, but otherwise a sizeable room for the stay.

Amenities: No amenities provided.

Cons: Only con was the windows are not soundproofed as it can get very noisy downtown. Bring earplugs for sleeping as there are a lot of cop sirens.

Final Verdict: Good stay for the short time I was there.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Comerica Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We revisited The Aloft in downtown Detroit while, once again coming to town for a concert. The hotel is modern, in a historic building. The marble hallways are sleek and clean. The rooms boast large, glass showers, very nice pillow top beds, and wonderful views of the city. Andre, the valet made quick work of securing our vehicle, and Shontae, at the check-in station was very personable, professional and welcoming. We will definitely visit Detroit again, and will always stay at The Aloft.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

The Aloft Detroit is an excellent choice and ideally situated for someone looking to take in one of the very exciting events that take place in an around the stadium area. The rooms were spacious and very clean. While I will always love the Book Cadillac you really can't go wrong with the Aloft Detroit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 60curtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
0.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,130 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1.2 km away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.7 km away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney

Address: 1 Park Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-1694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: ₱9,180 - ₱22,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us in the beautifully restored David Whitney Building and Aloft Hotel. Featuring a 4 story atrium, and rooms with views inside of Comerica Park, the Aloft hotel at the David Whitney Building provides a springboard for you to explore our beloved downtown Detroit and surrounding areas. The building is the closest hotel to Comerica Park, we have the only indoor People Mover station and countless dining and entertainment options are all within walking distance. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, we have you covered! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing