We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Old St. Mary's Church
Ranked #30 of 142 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful church in downtown Detroit. It has a beautiful cathedral interior with frescos and statues. The acoustics are fantastic. This is a must see!!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sheaston5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Breathtaking art & architecture”
Reviewed January 5, 2017

This is a beautiful Roman Catholic church that is in the heart of Greektown. While I love to look at the artwork, architecture and such, beware the pews are very narrow. Mass is very traditional as far as format and music with bells and formal attire of the altar servers. Its not the type of mass I prefer regulalry but I enjoy it as a novelty as it enhances the beauty of the church on visits. Not for young children since mass is so formal and long.

There is also a small grotto worth viewing.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank EricaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,486 reviews
903 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Drop In !”
Reviewed January 1, 2017

You don't have to be either Catholic or religious to admire this beautiful Church built in 1843 and marvel at its construction . The grotto's , pipe organ & multiple Altars sets it apart from others. Take a break from the Casino or a busy life and reflect on how blessed we are !! Well worth a look at when in Greektown !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very glad I was able to see the inside”
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Went here prior to a Lions game. Only a few minutes from Ford Field and right in Greektown. It is a very beautiful church.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Detroit333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I decided to stop by here after walking around Downtown Detroit as it was in the top 30 things to do in Detroit on TripAdvisor. And it was great! The church was BEAUTIFUL! I was surprised to see how beautiful the interior was with its high ceiling, organ pipes, plaques and mini rooms dedicated for prayer! I have just been recently to Russia and I can say that this church can compete with those in Russia! I am glad to have stopped here! A must if you are visiting Detroit!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank AKAshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old St. Mary's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing