We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Drop In !”

Old St. Mary's Church
Ranked #29 of 142 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,420 reviews
872 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Drop In !”
Reviewed January 1, 2017

You don't have to be either Catholic or religious to admire this beautiful Church built in 1843 and marvel at its construction . The grotto's , pipe organ & multiple Altars sets it apart from others. Take a break from the Casino or a busy life and reflect on how blessed we are !! Well worth a look at when in Greektown !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very glad I was able to see the inside”
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Went here prior to a Lions game. Only a few minutes from Ford Field and right in Greektown. It is a very beautiful church.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Detroit333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I decided to stop by here after walking around Downtown Detroit as it was in the top 30 things to do in Detroit on TripAdvisor. And it was great! The church was BEAUTIFUL! I was surprised to see how beautiful the interior was with its high ceiling, organ pipes, plaques and mini rooms dedicated for prayer! I have just been recently to Russia and I can say that this church can compete with those in Russia! I am glad to have stopped here! A must if you are visiting Detroit!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank AKAshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to encounter God”
Reviewed October 17, 2016

When you arrive at St. Mary's, the first thing you notice is the architecture. Once inside, the grottos on each side of the entrances stand out: To the left is the grotto depicting Christ's agony in the garden of Gethsemane, on the right are the Baptismal Grotto, depicting Christ's baptism in the Jordan River, and the Lourdes grotto, depicting the Marian apparition at Lourdes, France. The main altar is flanked by the St. Anthony altar on the left and the Sacred Heart altar on the right. Mass is offered at 12:15PM Monday-Saturday, with Vigil Mass (Sunday readings) at 5:30 PM Saturday, and three Masses on Sunday: 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM (Latin Mass) and 12 Noon. If you are here for Mass, for a wedding or just to say a prayer, your faith will be enriched.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank femaletrumpet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treasure in Detroit”
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We loved visiting this beautiful old church and learning about their active congregation. We called ahead for a tour and learned so much from their historian. It was a very moving experience for all of us.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old St. Mary's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing