We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest people, property needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 10, 2017

I want to start by saying, the people we dealt with were lovely and professional and went out fo their way to take care of all the issues we ran into. #1, arrived to a room that wasn't completely ready. piles of pillows and sheets in the chairs, no towels yet. The adjoining room was open and had old food. I was moved to another room that was cleaned. The key card lock on my door had to be replaced which took about 45 minutes, this was on day two. Day 3, the toilet didn't flush properly and I had to have some one come to fix it at 9pm my final evening. There were other strange issues that my colleagues dealt with, and all seemed to revolve around not having consistent processes. Having soap one day, and not the next. Coming back to my room and finding my full water bottle gone. No huge deal but, disappointing.
This is a beautiful older property with lovely personnel. I do hope that the management realizes that with a bit of process improvement and training, they could get rave reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margieinoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Thank you again for your feedback. It was our pleasure to address this issue while you were still staying with us. I am regretful that your stay was not to your expectations. I sincerely hope you will visit us again. I hope you are satisfied with the staff responsiveness to the issues you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 859 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2017

I really like the location as downtown Detroit is getting continually better and it’s an easy walk from here. Hotel has so much potential but it needs an update as it’s tired. Rooms are comfortable but bathroom I had was laughingly tiny. Great corner room but truly a laugh. There use to be a bar on top floor, and it’s closed and it would be a great place to hang and view.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. The design of the hotel brings a great view for every room, but it does sacrifice some bathroom space.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The pictures on their website or on tripadvisor look far better than the reality. The rooms are ok, but very very old and run-down. I have paid almost 700 USD for 4 nights, which is far too much for the value you receive and for the state in which the hotel is. I know that this is true for a lot of hotels in the US, but anyway the prices are too high for the value you receive. You feel as if you are on a trip back in time when you stay in these hotels, but you pay the price of a new one.
The pool area is in the cellar right next to the entrance. It does not look

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ale x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleda J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. It is true that the Crowne Plaza Detroit is a historical building, and many updates have been done recently. One of the advantages of the Crowne Plaza Detroit is the location- right in the heart of downtown and close to all of the sports and entertainment venues. Thanks for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

The property is in a great location in downtown Detroit. The staff is friendly and engaged in making my stay comfortable. The reason that I give this hotel an Average rating is the property condition. Finishes are becoming dated and dents and marks in doors are becoming noticeable. While it is apparent that the hotel is attempting to keep up with the aging property, it is probably time to renovate.
I had a hard time figuring out how to get the elevator to the street level. Better signage would be helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookspilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleda J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

We appreciate the details regarding your accommodations. We're glad the staff made you feel welcomed. We are constantly making improvements to our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Overall a nice place to stay. I thought it odd that the exterior sliding doors for both the Mezzanine and where the Valets where didn't work. The bed was extremely comfortable. Having a Starbucks was definitely a life saver

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank usmcdv1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleda J, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 km away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.9 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
1.1 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,130 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront

Address: 2 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-4421 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Detroit Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: ₱8,673 - ₱17,954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing