We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, excellent area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Hotel staff were guest focused, polite and helpful in picking out local sites and restaurants. We had two special requests of the staff and both were taken care of immediately. The location is very close to Greek Town, Ballparks, and tons of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear of your experience with our talented staff and that you enjoyed our convenient location downtown in the entertainment district of Detroit. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2017

From the moment we valet parked our car to checking in, our experience with each staff member was memorable and an positive experience. We stayed for one night to go to a hockey game, staff were interested to understand how they could help us. How are we getting to the game, we are in an UBER zone we were told and made it easy to get to and from the game, from suggesting places to eat.

The hotel was spotless and inviting, our room was mindblowing, we were upgraded and had a fab suite.

It was an inspiring experience and we will definitely return. Our rating of this location, and hotel is a 10+++.

Room Tip: Perfect location if heading to a sporting event in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great experience from start to finish at our hotel! We take pride in our kind and friendly staff, cleanly standards and recently renovated guest rooms! We hope to see you back soon to enjoy more hockey games and our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

we all were very pleased with everything. great experience, my family and I will return to this hotel the next time we are in Detroit, Valet was super also, the breakfast was very good. the room was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear of your great experience including the valet, room and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Bring your own blankets as the hotel only provides 1 per bed and they are extremely thin. Room fee was incredibly high for the lack of sleep we experienced. Would not return. Staff were friendly and the room was nice however this was overshadowed by the fact we were freezing cold all night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our priority. We apologize for your experience with our comforters. We would like to share our hotel is looking into new options for comforters at this time as well. If there was ever a similar situation again, our front desk and housekeeping staff would be happy to assist you in providing another blanket for your room. Again we apologize and thank you for your feedback. We do hope you consider another stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Picked this hotel for its location to Little Ceasers. it turned out to be a 12 minute walk. There were restaurants and bars in the neighborhood and along the way. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The Junior suite was a great spacious room Very comfortable and clean. it does need a safe

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Wayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location near all major sport arenas and a variety of restaurants, as well as our cleanly standards and comfortable rooms. We will be sure to take into consideration putting safes in the guest rooms. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
0.3 km away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: ₱8,459 - ₱24,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing