We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

The trip “unofficially” began when I received a surprise text from Anna (who was wonderful and I hope hotel management recognizes her) asking if I needed anything in advance - rarely happens nowadays!

Arrived and actually met Anna who took care of everything! Room upgraded and lovely stay.

Would recommend and stay again!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank VK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2017

Best thing regarding the hotel is the hotel's pickup guy Mark, he is a really top guy and i hired him to take me around Detroit on the Saturday and we got on so well we went for a drink in the evening i strongly recommend you call the hotel to get his number and arrange a deal with him.
Stayed here in September, pleasent hotel a couple of good bars close by.
I got there late on a Friday night approx midnight thankfully the room was ready and everything in order to a good satisfaction.
Nice Suite had everything i needed, the bar downstairs is quite expensive for a drink but i found the whole of Detroit to be that way.
I cannot fault the hotel and i would be happy to stay here again, i also got the shuttle service from the hotel to Ford Field, had to wait a while but cannot fault that service either.

Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ryan and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us a few weeks ago. I'm glad to hear that everything was great, and thank you for understanding that our shuttle can get a bit busy and be a few minutes more than normal on occasion. I hope that you will make a return to Detroit in the new year and choose us to host you! Until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Staff at the Doubletree did a great job of accommodating my team for both our meetings as well as our stay in their hotel. Service and food for our meetings was very good! Hotel is convenient to get to and is close to many areas downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jamie and thank you for choosing DoubleTree Suites. I am glad we were able to host your meetings and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the new year! Until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

I highly recommend this hotel from the moment I walked in to the moment I checked out it was an exceptional experience. The staff is great the rooms are very clean meticulous the sheets and the comforter/pillow so comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 483ainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

The location is very handy to all downtown attractions, we walked everywhere. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the valets and front desk, a rapid check in and out. The room was quite large, very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ron and thank you for choosing DoubleTree Suites on your travel to Detroit. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the city and with our hotel and I look forward to hosting you in the new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.8 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.4 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
13.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: ₱7,507 - ₱28,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing