We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at inexpensive prices”

Anchor House Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Wilbraham
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Dining and Banquet Facilities on Beautiful 9 Mile Pond in Wilbraham
Reviewed 7 August 2018

There are a lot of restaurants along this route(20), but the lake view has always kept us coming back. This is the first time we have been here under this name, but we were delighted with the food and service. In fact she was a little over attentive but we didn't mind. The veal parmargian was delicious and large for luncheon portion (my husband did not mind), I had the chicken broccoli with the olive oil and took half home. It was very good and a side salad with it for $1.99 was large enough for both of us to share. The house wine was good and not pricey. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We have gone few times for the Steamers. They are delicious and good value. They have a nice bar selection. We have gotten other appetizers as well. The view of the lake is quite peaceful i have never been impressed with the service.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bertabera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2018

90 min for entrees and just 4 tables in the restaurant. Food was good. But not worth the wait. Embarrassed staff who did not check on us for refills of drinks. Unattractive setting. The water view area is rustic but the interior space is horrible. No manager on duty. Many of our table of 9 went to the host and asked for updates. If the wait staff went back the next day, they were brave.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We have eaten there twice now. This is a bar/restaurant +. The reviews saying the internal seating is 'unattractive' are valid. If I could not sit looking at the lake I would think twice. But the [small] lake view is very nice.
I can see why some say the service is laid back. It tends to casual, but we found it perfectly fine. The bread and bruschetta they bring is good and fresh.
On the second visit, we were not so hungry so split good steamers (~$11) and had 2 small portions [nice to have the option] of backed haddock. It came with nice tasting mashed potatoes (even if they may have come from a catering pack) and julliene carrots and zucchini which were perfectly cooked. Crisp but cooked.
We have always had something off the specials list. They have all been good.
The wine is reasonably priced, and OK. The house white wine was very reasonably priced, and "up to expectations". (0.5L @ $12 - Just what we needed.)
For an inexpensive good tasting meal, cost effective wine, and a pretty view, try the Anchor House.
We will go back again.
I never know how to rate places like this. It is not a "Le Bernardin NYC - very good", but it is a nice friendly place with nice food at a good price so it gets 4*.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This place is our current favorite place to eat in the area. They have good service and the food is usually very tasty, fresh, and reasonably priced. The menu has many excellent dishes, if ever anything goes wrong they are quick to correct it. We go almost once a month for dinner or lunch. Very clean restrooms, plenty of parking, and there is a very nice view in the back dining area.There is also a large backyard area with places to sit and eat outdoors. The only negative would be a small wine list.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anchor House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing