We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip to Eastern Europe in Newton”
Review of Moldova Restaurant

Moldova Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moldova Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 275 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Description: With influences from its neighbors: Romania and Ukraine, a little from Turkey and Bulgaria, some from Russia and even the Mediterranean countries, Moldovan cuisine offers a variety of tastes and fl avors. With basic spices and herbs, various crops and meats, our dishes represent real masterpieces when it comes to combining it all, giving an incredible result for a well-balanced meal. Embark with us on a journey to a totally new culinary experience!
Restaurant details
Description: With influences from its neighbors: Romania and Ukraine, a little from Turkey and Bulgaria, some from Russia and even the Mediterranean countries, Moldovan cuisine offers a variety of tastes and fl avors. With basic spices and herbs, various crops and meats, our dishes represent real masterpieces when it comes to combining it all, giving an incredible result for a well-balanced meal. Embark with us on a journey to a totally new culinary experience!
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We tried Moldova today for the first time. It was everything I hoped for and more. Wonderful, fresh food served European style. The braised Lamb was absolutely fantastic and one of the most tender I've had. The interesting mixture of spice made for a particularly nice deviation from the norm in Newton dining. They are also soon to have a full liquor license as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur A, Owner at Moldova Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you Suzanne for the kind words. Our lamb does have quite the reputation, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Keep an eye on our facebook page as we will be launching our Brunch Menu soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We thought we would try something different and had never been to a Moldovian restaurant. The place is small but nicely decorated. The menu is rather limited and you may find the food unusual, but everything was very tasty. They do not yet have an alcohol license. The staff was friendly and helpful. Prices are reasonable. Street parking. Certainly worth a try.We plan to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur A, Owner at Moldova Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you Michael for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you gave us a try. We're already in the process of getting our Liquor License, so fingers crossed that will be approved soon. Keep an eye on our facebook page as we will be launching our Brunch Menu soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Moldova serves food from Moldova, a Slavic/Baltic area of eastern Europe. The menu had very few familiar foods. We took chances wit several dishes.

Cabbage pie (one of several veggie/sweet/savory pies). It was much better than it sounds. Layers of filo enclosing cabbage in a thin pie. Really flavorful.

The roasted squash dish was a bit uneven. Maybe you really have to be into squash to fully appreciate it. Spiced beef dish was interesting, sort of Hungarian but no paprika. I would order it again.

I tried the chicken soup. Home made noodles and all kinds of veggies made it really good. Oh, and lots of chicken with an interesting flavor.

Noodle dishes were great, all home made. Feta as a topping was unusual, but satisfying.

Bright, airy atmosphere, pleasant photos of the countryside with ethnic decorations on the walls.

On street parking only. Wines available only on Friday and Saturday.

We will return.

Check it out! Where else will you ever get food from Moldova!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 3,142,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur A, Owner at Moldova Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We do indeed cook and prep everything in house, so it should all feel homie. We would love to hear some suggestions, in order to better train our staff. And by the way, there is free parking in the back of building. Keep that in mind for your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Moldova being our neighbor to the north and for many centuries part of Romania, we came full of anticipation since there is a communality of both cuisine. First impression walking through the door is of welcoming. The restaurant is rather small but very clean and there is Moldovan authentic music in the background and the hostess was very nice. Now we didn't try all the things on the menu which is somewhat limited but I sure thing recommend " zeama " which is a very delicious mildly sour chicken soup. As a side dish you are safe to order some pickled green tomatoes and cucumbers. As a main course we tried the "mititei ", although they are not specific to Moldavian cuisine. This is were we were a bit disappointed. Mititei are sausages skinless with a combination of minced meats, usually lamb and some veal with lots of condiments (garlic, paprika, savory salt and pepper) ours had less condiments and lack the fat which makes them so moist. As a dessert you can't go wrong with some of their " placinte or clatite cu dulceata which are similar to crepes and doughnuts with cherry preserves. Overall a nice culinary experience for a novice in Eastern European cuisine. P

Thank Cacabesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur A, Owner at Moldova Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

So glad to know all of these details about your visit! Actually the traditional recipe for Mititei is beef and pork fat. This is what most Romanian cook books will tell you. Lamb and beef is more a combination for kebabs. But the varieties even throughout Romania and Moldova are fairly high, so I'm sure that there's certain areas that prefer their Mititei with Lamb. In any case, we'll pass it over to the cooks to make sure not to overcook the mititei, as they indeed are supposed to come out juicy. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We dined at this restaurant Saturday night. It was our first experience with Moldovan food, but we found the cuisine similar to that of Romania and Hungary. We were seated immediately, something that is very important to me. The food was of high quality throughout.
But we did encounter problems. The service was slow. Though the servers were working very hard, there were simply not enough of them. For example, there was only one water glass on the table. We had to ask for another one twice before we got one. It was quite difficult to get the waitstaff's attention. Our biggest problem was that some of the sidewalk in front of the restaurant remained unshoveled and was slippery, a problem for an older person like me.

Overall, Moldova is well worth trying.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur A, Owner at Moldova Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad you brought these issues up, as it will help us keep better track of things we need to improve on. I apologize for not being able to give you more attention. Sometimes is harder to keep up, especially on a Saturday night. I'm sure our servers where doing their best and we hope for your understanding. We hope to see you again soon, the snow and ice will definitely not be a problem anymore :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moldova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing