We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
86
52
11
12
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
86
52
11
12
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2019

The location in Hyannis Port can't be beat for touring Cape Cod or taking the ferry to Nantucket. The Inn's decor is charming, comfortable and homey. And it's dog-friendly! But even better than all these attributes is the hospitality of the owner who is font of information about where to go, what to see, where to eat and how best to do it all. He even has written pages of info on the best options for different parts of the Cape and is great at helping plan an itinerary if you need it. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBill, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

So happy you all had a nice time. That's what I try to do, just make the trip out to Cape Cod the best you can have. :-) Being dog friendly is because the pup is family, not a pet. There is soooo much to see and enjoy Cape Cod from here at the Simmons Homestead which is your home here on Cape Cod.

Keep coming back and get the $20 a night off discount for returning guests.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

My wife and I were to stay here on our honeymoon in 2000. We didn’t stay more than
30 minutes. We made an excuse that we had to leave in a hurry and were willing to lose money.He did refund our second night at least.
Old decrepit room with no locks and gaps in the door jam. Definitely a creepy vibe to this place. I can see that some travelers find this a great oasis,but from the negative reviews,I can see it hasn’t changed much.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Explorer748770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBill, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Sorry, that was 9 or so years ago. Place is pretty nice and guest revues are all just fine. Why not try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2019

We stayed at the Simmons Homestead for 3 nights. The rooms were old, but it is a building that was 200 years old which made it unique. The Inn Keeper Bill is a delight. He does everything to make sure your stay at the Inn and the Cape is complete. Every morning Bill asked our plans and gave us an abundace of information and advice. Our dog Zimmer was welcomed with open arms. The back yard area was beautiful and relaxing for all of us. We will return! Thank you Bill!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephgarrett33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

It's wonderful to get guests like you with a pup who just make this your home here on the Cape. That's what you and I all want. Thanks :-) Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

My mother and I wanted a quiet place for our 5-day visit to the Cape in high summer= a tall order. But at Mr. Putman’s we found the ideal spot. A quaint but not cutesy inn in a secluded but easily accessible residential area, the inn offers quiet nights, stress-free mornings, an incredibly helpful staff, and a proprietor who knows everything about Cape Cod. Not just Hyannis, but all of Cape Cod. Everything. He has prepared fascinating, detailed literature about things to do in town, on driving tours, where to shop for X or Y, where to eat (and what to order), and where one can get a drink (and where one cannot).

We had wanted to stay on the Vineyard but were put off by cost and access. We “settled” on Hyannis and the Simmons Inn. We could not have made a better choice. The atmosphere and one-to-one service gave us the “.
summer at the Cape” experience we were seeking. Moreover, in our wanderings, we did not observe anyplace comparable in terms of all the points mentioned.

Mr. Putman’s inn will be my first-choice accommodation for my future visits to Old Cape Cod.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Thanks, and I found you two very interesting as well. And you coming from Kuait was quite an honor too. Hope you and Pat do get back again. See Ya THen :-)

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

This was a cute B and B close to downtown and the harbor. Enjoy a drink on the back patio overlooking the beautiful grounds. Bill was full of knowledge about the entire cape. He has spent a lot of time compiling travel itineraries to take you any direction that you want to go!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

Hi Laura,

Glad you had a nice time. That's what we try to get everyone to have :-) There is a lot to do and see on Cape Cod and being in the middle we are the best place to go in any direction. What we do, and I know you must realize, is to give you more info than you can possibly handle so you just have to come back to see it all and then it'll change a bit and you'll keep coming back again and again and enjoy the quiet hours right here at the Inn.

And ..... when a guest that has been here before comes back we take off $20 a night from the regular rates. Another great reason to keep coming back.

See ya Laura,

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews