We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
86
52
11
11
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
86
52
11
11
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

My mother and I wanted a quiet place for our 5-day visit to the Cape in high summer= a tall order. But at Mr. Putman’s we found the ideal spot. A quaint but not cutesy inn in a secluded but easily accessible residential area, the inn offers quiet nights, stress-free mornings, an incredibly helpful staff, and a proprietor who knows everything about Cape Cod. Not just Hyannis, but all of Cape Cod. Everything. He has prepared fascinating, detailed literature about things to do in town, on driving tours, where to shop for X or Y, where to eat (and what to order), and where one can get a drink (and where one cannot).

We had wanted to stay on the Vineyard but were put off by cost and access. We “settled” on Hyannis and the Simmons Inn. We could not have made a better choice. The atmosphere and one-to-one service gave us the “.
summer at the Cape” experience we were seeking. Moreover, in our wanderings, we did not observe anyplace comparable in terms of all the points mentioned.

Mr. Putman’s inn will be my first-choice accommodation for my future visits to Old Cape Cod.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Thanks, and I found you two very interesting as well. And you coming from Kuait was quite an honor too. Hope you and Pat do get back again. See Ya THen :-)

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

This was a cute B and B close to downtown and the harbor. Enjoy a drink on the back patio overlooking the beautiful grounds. Bill was full of knowledge about the entire cape. He has spent a lot of time compiling travel itineraries to take you any direction that you want to go!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

Hi Laura,

Glad you had a nice time. That's what we try to get everyone to have :-) There is a lot to do and see on Cape Cod and being in the middle we are the best place to go in any direction. What we do, and I know you must realize, is to give you more info than you can possibly handle so you just have to come back to see it all and then it'll change a bit and you'll keep coming back again and again and enjoy the quiet hours right here at the Inn.

And ..... when a guest that has been here before comes back we take off $20 a night from the regular rates. Another great reason to keep coming back.

See ya Laura,

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Bill, "the Innkeeper of sorts" has the 411 on all things local - we were well directed. He was welcoming and engaging. Simmons is quiet, clean and a great home base in the heart of the Cape. Love this area in the off-season. Don't miss Toad Hall if you are any kind of car buff.

Room tip: Tell Bill what you want!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DoraExploresNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperBill, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2019

Hi Dora, Glad we were of help in getting you around. Even if you had been here before, things change and we want you to go to the nice places and just enjoy. That's why we do Wine Hour at night. In addition to being a kinda social with other guests, we show you actual menus of the places we recommend for dinner. There over 80 places to eat from McDonalds to the biggest and best. We recommend less than a dozen, and guests have never complained and really enjoy our picks.

We want you to feel completely at home here and enjoy every single minute on that you are here. See ya again,

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

E had an absolutely wonderfully relaxing weekend. Webstay d in the Rabbit Room, so-called because of the themed decorations. Our Innkeeper, Mr. Bill Putman was a wonderful and knowledgeable host, with everything from which restaurants to go to, places to see, and directions to all, The inn itsl f was charming, as my husband and I both live off New England inns. “Wine Hour” each evening provided a nice time to relax and chat wit other guests before going out for dinner. All in al, a fantastic fall weekend.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank 790maggiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

That's great, thanks. I simply try and make this a non formal place and really your home away from home here on the Cape. That's why it's nice to meet and chat with new friends over a glass or two of wine and to enjoy all of the Cape so much you'll keep coming back home here. Glad you enjoyed,

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Simmons is a quirky and eclectic inn located in a quiet neighborhood about 2 miles from the busy village of Hyannis. The innkeeper, Bill, is a true Renaissance man who manages the inn, cooks breakfast, concierge to all and a collector of cars, single malt liquor and books. This bed and breakfast may not be the correct choice for all but if you like the unusual and no frills this is the spot for you.

Room tip: Dog owners choose Room 2
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPutman, Owner at Simmons Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

That's why it's your "Cape Home", Casual and enjoyable. Glad you and the pup had a great time, see ya agin :-) Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews