We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lorrie R
Spokane, Washington

Very pleasant location, not suited for anyone with mobility issues.

Review of Samoset Resort
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 15, 2024
The resort is very pleasant and quiet and the view from the balcony of our timeshare condo was spectacular. Unit is clean and comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped (though VERY small, about 6' x 8', one person at a time).

I do have some caveats that are worth a mention. Even though there his handicapped parking in the lot, the building is NOT ACA accessible. There is a slop up to the main door, however the door is not automated and hard to open from even a standing position. There is a two inch bump to get over before entering the vestibule, where there is another door and bump before you are in the building. There is NO elevator, so if you do have some mobility issues, be sure to ask for the door level floor. There are 17 stairs to get to the second floor.

There are no GFI outlets next to the kitchen sink, nor are there any next to the bathroom sink.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jun 2, 2024
Glad you enjoyed our pleasant Penobscot Bay location and view. It sounds like you stayed in one of our smaller one bedroom condominium units.
I believe you are referring to ADA which I included in the email I sent to you following your comments. Our 72 condos are broken up into 24 per building each with its own entry leading to three floors. I’m sorry if the access did not meet your expectations, Our Engineering team will follow up on the GFI outlets, thank you for sharing. With Hospitality,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱14,535
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,540
  • Expedia.com
    ₱14,535
  • Priceline
    ₱14,538
2.6 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱15,119
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱15,119
2.7 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱11,748
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,748
2.9 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱11,942
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱11,944
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,942
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,945
2.4 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱8,698
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₱8,699
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱8,700
  • Vio.com
    ₱8,699
1.8 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱13,863
₱12,404
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.9 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱11,616
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,616
6.7 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Skyscanner.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
6.6 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rockport Harbor Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱28,545
  • Agoda.com
7.8 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
    7.4 km from Samoset Resort
    View more hotels in Rockport
    Reviews (2,084)
    Filter reviews
    2,084 results
    Traveler rating
    1,436
    406
    149
    59
    34
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    1,436
    406
    149
    59
    34
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golf course la bella the general manager pebble beach tennis courts time share kids club hot tub timeshare units enoteca lounge gift shop outdoor pool light house ocean view rockland breakwater maine coast beautiful spot
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    14 - 19 of 2,084 reviews
    Reviewed May 13, 2024

    The location and room views are awesome! The Timeshare/Condo unit are modest (including modest tight kitchen and modest bathroom), pleasant, clean, have everything you need including well-equipped kitchen, TV, nice balcony, closet. Bed is comfortable. Temperature in the unit is easy to control. Restaurant is a very wonderful feature and we enjoyed a lot our dinner on the first night. We were able to walk around the golf course and near the water before and after golf hours. Resort is conveniently located near the grocery stores, Pockland and Camden where you will find a lot of wonderful galleries and fantastic stores. We loved hiking to the tops of the hills with magnificent 360 views. Acadia National Park is enchanting!

    Date of stay: May 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with RCI
    Thank iig7053
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2024

    iig, Thank you for choosing our wonderful location to spend a week in one of our 72 ocean view time share condominiums. Mid coast Maine has something for everyone especially for shopping, dining and museums. Camden Hills State Park is indeed a fun location for hiking and panoramic Penobscot Bay overlooks. Glad you took advantage of the 2 hour drive to Mount Desert Island, home to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. With Hospitality, Connie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2024

    My friend and I had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the resort and in the surrounding area. The staff were extremelyhelpful at the resort, answering all of our questions and giving excellent service. We especially enjoyed making s’mores annd drinking anpple cider our first night, as well as the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, large grounds to explore and view from our unit throughout the week. Groceries were closeby to get, as well as several restaurants that we tried for lunch, and lighthouses that we hiked to.

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with RCI
    Thank FeliciaAmenaM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2024

    Felicia, thank you for staying with us and sharing your favorable Samoset condominium experience. Our teams goal is to exceed our guests expectations, it appears we succeeded in this instance. S’mores and cider in the lobby are true guest favorites. Lots to do in midcoast Maine, glad you were able to take in the many options in the area. Go Maple Leafs! With Hospitality, Connie Russell, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 19, 2024

    The condo rooms were nice and about what you would expect from an RCI property, but the real benefit of staying here is the added amenities of the hotel, especially the first-class gym. The front desk staff were outstanding and went above and beyond anytime I had a question or issue. I was especially impressed by their professionalism. The view of the coast and the surrounding area made for a unique and satisfying vacation experience. I would definitely stay here again.

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
    Thank John S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2024

    Hi John, Glad you were able to take advantage of one of our 72 RCI Gold Crown Ocean view condominiums. Thank you for the very kind words about our professional front desk team who are always at your service. Our expansive fitness center has something for everyone, we are pleased it met your expectations. Come back and visit us again, with Hospitality, Connie Russell, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 15, 2024

    We had a second floor unit with a spacious balcony and a great view of Penobscot Bay. The mattress could have been more comfortable and the couch a little higher, but overall the 1-bedroom unit was comfortable, well-designed and bright. The mini kitchen satisfied our means. Camden is minutes away, and during our 1-week stay we drove the 2 hours to Acadia National Park. The resort is in Rockport on the border with Rockland and we enjoyed the nearby Home Kitchen Cafe and Bakery Rockland.

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
    Thank JimSail
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2024

    Hi Jimsail, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your week long visit in one of our 72 entry level time share condominiums. All units have spacious views of Penobscot Bay beyond the golf course fairways. Mount Desert Island day trips are ideal as are visits to Camden-Rockport-Rockland. Home Kitchen Cafe is indeed THE best for breakfast or lunch, but save room at their bakery just a few feet away for delicious cookies, pies and everything else. Thanks for staying with us, change it up with a fall visit for a different experience. With Hospitality,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 25, 2024

    We have gone to the Samoset for February vacation for years. What a wonderful escape in the middle of winter without having to travel far! We love the resort, and the local restaurants and attractions. We are never bored. It is also a beautiful place to relax and just stare at the ocean and sky!

    Room tip: February vacation is full of families with children. We like it, but not for everyone at that time.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Joanne C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2024

    Hi Joanne, we are so thankful you enjoy our resort as your February school vacation headquarters. Our Team enjoys executing the many fun activities carefully planned by Addie Sylvester, our amazing Director of Operations. This year we saw a record number of Maine Staycationers. We look forward to hosting you for many years to come, your rest and relaxation location awaits. With Hospitality,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews