We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kara B
Hoboken, New Jersey

Relaxing Getaway

Review of Samoset Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 19, 2015
My husband, brother, sister-in-law and I just stayed at the Samoset Resort and had a great time! It was such a relaxing weekend. The food was delicious, service was great, rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was very friendly. The views were amazing! Despite being there during the winter, the views were still breathtaking. We loved all of the different sitting areas around the bar- you could sit by the fireplace, near the TVs or just in a quiet corner to talk. The hotel was hosting "The Glacier Ice Bar" while we were there, which was a really fun experience! Outside on the patio they made a complete bar out of ice... bar top, bar stools, tables, chairs, and sculptures. Heaters and fire pits were set up as well, so you could order one of the specialty drinks, hang outside and enjoy the scene. I would recommend staying here if you're in the area or looking for a relaxing weekend away. We're looking forward to going back during the summer and staying again!
Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this review
Responded Jan 26, 2015
Dear Kara B,

Delicious food, great service, clean rooms, and friendly staff combined with beautiful ocean views all make for a perfect weekend. I’m so glad we were able to make your family weekend at the Samoset so enjoyable and relaxing. Our Glacier Ice Bar is a “must do” weekend each January so I’m pleased you were able to attend. We look forward to welcoming you back this summer.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱17,458
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,458
2.7 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱14,705
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱12,430
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
1.8 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.9 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rockport Harbor Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
7.8 km from Samoset Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
    7.4 km from Samoset Resort
    View more hotels in Rockport
    Reviews (2,084)
    Filter reviews
    2,084 results
    Traveler rating
    1,436
    406
    149
    59
    34
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    1,436
    406
    149
    59
    34
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golf course la bella the general manager pebble beach tennis courts time share kids club hot tub timeshare units enoteca lounge gift shop outdoor pool light house ocean view rockland breakwater maine coast beautiful spot
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1,334 - 1,339 of 2,084 reviews
    Reviewed January 20, 2015

    Spent Sunday night at the Samoset with my daughters, it was spectacular!!
    We had so much fun in the pool and hot tub, a great meal in the restaruant, and the room was very clean, with very comfortable beds and linens..... not to mention it had the best view of the breakwater!!!
    I hightly recommend the Samoset and will return again and again!!!

    Date of stay: January 2015
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Carol H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

    Dear Carol H,

    What a fun getaway for you and your daughters to spend the night with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time together while enjoying the heated indoor pool and hot tub and great meal in La Bella Vita. We can’t take credit for the view, but I agree the Rockland Breakwater on Penobscot Bay is spectacular.

    With Warm Hospitality,

    Cornelius J. Russell

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 14, 2015

    My family along with 10 or so other families decided to stay at the Samoset for New Year's Eve and it was such a great time. The resort was so accommodating to our big group and placed all of our rooms in the same wing.

    The kids had such a great time in the pool area and at the skating rink. The rate $109 included breakfast which was delicious! The dinner that we had was also great!

    It was also so nice that we were able to check in early and check out late.

    The staff at the samoset is so welcoming, accommodating and relaxed! Such a wonderful place for families to enjoy themselves. Thanks so much and we will be back this weekend for the Ice Bar and can't wait!!!

    Date of stay: December 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Pacdee53
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

    Dear Pacdee53,

    What a great group of friends you gathered together for New Year’s Eve. We are so pleased you choose to spend the evening with us and were happy to accommodate all of you with rooms in the same wing. It sounds as if you took advantage of everything we have to do from swimming in the heated indoor pool to ice skating and a hearty breakfast. Thank you also for mentioning our hard working, welcoming, and accommodating staff. We hope you enjoyed your time with us at the ice bar this year, too.

    With Warm Hospitality,

    Cornelius J. Russell

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 12, 2015

    Stayed at the Samoset Christmas eve and Christmas night. The staff is very courteous and friendly. They eagerly accommodated our request for an adjoining room for other family members. Absolutely breathtaking views. Christmas morning we sat with our coffee and watched the sun rise over Penobscot bay. Difficult to find a more enjoyable way to start your day. This was our third time staying at the Samoset over the holidays, it will continue to be our first choice.

    Room tip: Corner suites have the best view of the bay.
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tom L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

    Dear Tom L,

    We appreciate your patronage and your continuing to stay with us again over the Christmas holiday. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your adjoining rooms while taking in the beautiful sunrise over Penobscot Bay on Christmas morning. We agree this is a fantastic way to start any day. We look forward to seeing you again next Christmas.

    With Warm Hospitality,

    Cornelius J. Russell

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 9, 2015

    Since we were not able to be with family this year at holiday time, we booked a stay at the Samoset. And what a good decision that turned out to be. We had no expectations regarding activities as we knew we would simply be relaxing and enjoying one another's company. So the rain and fog didn't bother us! It was lovely, however, that the fog lifted Christmas morning so that our ocean view room really did provide us with a gorgeous view.

    We had two wonderful meals at La Bella Vita; Christmas Eve dinner and Christmas morning breakfast. The food and wine were wonderful, as was the service.

    The resort was filled with lovely holiday decorations, not overdone, just tasteful. We would definitely stay there for a holiday again. Instead of feeling sad that we were not with family, we relished our environment and the attention of the professional yet friendly staff.

    Room tip: The extra for an ocean front room was well worth the money!
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Elizabeth W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

    Dear Elizabeth W,

    Thank you for joining us over the Christmas holiday. I am pleased we could offer you a lovely, quiet place to enjoy yourselves while away from family this year. I will be sure to share with our Food & Beverage Director how you complimented both your dinner on Christmas Eve and breakfast Christmas morning in La Bella Vita. We look forward to welcoming you back.

    With Warm Hospitality,

    Cornelius J. Russell

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 8, 2015

    Each winter we make a point to stay at The Samoset for a couple of weekends with a group of families. The kids love the pool, the ice rink, and the playroom. The rooms are clean, very large, have great views of the ocean, and the service in all areas of the resort is virtually unmatched. This year we went for New Years Eve with 16 other families and The Resort did an incredible job accomodating our group by keeping us together in a wing of the hotel and accomodating the adults in our group for a great dinner. You cannot beat the low rates they offer in the winter for a fun family getaway, we now make it a point to go each year multiple times and truly look forward to it.

    Room tip: The rooms are consistent and all good from what we have experienced
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Adam D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

    Dear Adam D,

    We are so glad you and your friends choose to return to the Samoset again and again. We appreciate your patronage and letting us know how pleased you are with our resort. Being able to gather 16 families together for New Year’s Eve to enjoy the indoor pool, ice rink, and dining is impressive and we were pleased you had such a wonderful time staying with us.

    With Warm Hospitality,

    Cornelius J. Russell

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews